ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 42 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#4597 10/05/01 07:45 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 58
K
ken m Offline OP
Member
anyone have ideas regarding the best way to locate a possible drywall fastener that has penetrated an nm cable? i would imagine that to be the problem. with the ground wire connected to a light switch people are getting the 'buzz'. thx for any help. ken m

#4598 10/05/01 09:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
Ken,

What do you mean by "getting the 'buzz'" ?

Bill


Bill
#4599 10/05/01 01:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 58
K
ken m Offline OP
Member
bill, just hick talk for getting shocked when touching the cover screws. i did find the problem. a poor wiring job to begin with because the equip gnd was snipped off the supply cable. the gnd wire in the 14/3 feeding the light/fan combo from the switch was terminated on the switch gnd screw and and the fan housing with a potential of 120v. found that the nm cable clamp had been overtightned to a point of mashing not only the nm sheath but the wire insulation of the ungrounded wire as well to a point of contact between the hot wire and the clamp.
not sure why they went to the trouble of grounding the fan and switch and omitting the main equipt gnd cond from the source.

#4600 10/05/01 05:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
ken,

Gotcha! [Linked Image]
It seems like the 14/3 that is made now cannot take tightening of the Rx clamps. The dimple probably digs into it. I always try to give a few wraps of tape around the cable before tightening the clamp.

Bill


Bill
#4601 10/05/01 06:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
At least you have clamps on boxes for Romex.

The equivalent cables here are just run through a knock-out with a rubber grommet so there's nothing to actually clamp the cable firmly. It should be clipped close to the box, but frequently isn't, so strained connections inside are quite common if someone's tugged at the loose cable.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5