ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:12 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:04 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:00 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 02:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 21 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Sub Panel or Not? #44574 11/07/04 08:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline OP
Member
Hi,
I am doing a large 2 story home that is all electric. The main panel is in the garage on the basement level. I was thinking about installing a sub panel on the 1st level to handle some of the loads up there.

Is this a good idea?

Any suggestions on WHERE to put it?

Thanks for any replies..

-regards

Mustang

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44575 11/07/04 09:17 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
E
electricman786 Offline
Member
All ways is good to have sub panel if there is suitable location. Use sub panel for lighting and receptacles loads. This way lot of long home runs and voltage drop can be avoided.

[This message has been edited by electricman786 (edited 11-08-2004).]

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44576 11/07/04 09:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Electric Eagle Offline
Member
How big is this house? Any house over 4000 sq ft we put on a 400 amp service. Often we locate 1 panel in the basement and 1 in the garage or laundry.

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44577 11/07/04 09:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline OP
Member
Hi,
Thanks for the replies. The house is about 1800 on the 1st level and 1100 on the basement level. The laundry is in the basement.

-regards

Mustang

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44578 11/07/04 10:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline
Member
In or near the kitchen would be my choice. [Linked Image]

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44579 11/11/04 11:44 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline
Member
I am doing a 5000sq ft home and will be using sub panel on 2nd floor and one in basement, opposite side from service.
Placement is the biggest problem. Do I have it in a hallway where a picture can hang over it? In a sitting room off a bedroom to avoid seeing it? In the attic, full walk up stairs?

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44580 11/11/04 01:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline OP
Member
my problem exactly...WHERE is the most unobtrusive location..

-regards

Mustang

Re: Sub Panel or Not? #44581 11/11/04 03:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 80
B
Bert66 Offline
Member
Every sub-panel that I have installed has been located in a location where I have the shortest homeruns to my major appliances (water heaters, furnance, a/c, dryer, etc). I have put them in the walkin attic located off the 2nd floor, attached garages, and laundry rooms. It's a lot easyer to run (1) big romex to supply power to your sub-panel vs. multiple home-runs to these appliances from your distribution panel.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CharlieE
CharlieE
Indianapolis
Posts: 201
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,125 Are you busy
206,018 Re: Forum
194,042 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3