ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/19/20 03:43 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Alum/Copper bus Panels #42775 09/25/04 08:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Fred Offline OP
Member
I am curious to know what bus material the panels you most frequently install have. Copper, Aluminum or plated Copper? I know that location plays in to this selection sometimes, but if it doesn't, why do you prefer what you prefer?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42776 09/25/04 08:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Copper, We use the CH Classic Loadcenters, We just use, good quality material on all our jobs, better contact with copper, and the breakers are better quality.
We tried other Loadcenters, and after problems, and expensive call backs we went back to CH.
SQ D is another good Loadcenter, but we can't use it on service upgrades where they are bottom feed, because SQ D has neutral bars all clustered next to Main Breaker, and all the neutral wires would have to be spliced to reach the bars.

[This message has been edited by LK (edited 09-25-2004).]

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42777 09/26/04 06:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
LK, you could turn the SQ D panel upside down. Also there is no reason you can't splice the neutrals. I usually use Siemens for no special reason other than thats what my main supplier carries. I could not even tell you what the bus is made from.

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42778 09/26/04 12:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Fred Offline OP
Member
We only have one supply house in town and they carry Siemens ITE. They have their stock loadcenters in either copper or aluminum bus. If you order tubs with interiors that take bolt-ins they are usually plated copper bus. I started dealing with a supply house in a neighboring town last year that carries GE Powerline Gold Series loadcenters. They come standard with tin plated copper bus, even the stab-in loadcenters. SQD QO loadcenters are all plated copper bus. SQD Homeline are aluminum only. I prefer copper and in situations where the loadcenter is in an unheated area, I prefer the plated copper bus.

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42779 09/26/04 06:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Scott,

quote,

_________________________________________
"LK, you could turn the SQ D panel upside down. Also there is no reason you can't splice the neutrals. I usually use Siemens for no special reason other than thats what my main supplier carries. I could not even tell you what the bus is made from."

____________________________________________

When you turn the SQ D upside down, the neutral bars are at the bottom of the panel,
and yes there is a reason we can't splice the neutrals, the inspectors in this area, will accept, one or maby two splices, and that is it, all other splices they want in boxes outside the panel, also you can't get away with running the lines from bottom to top of loadcenter breaker, it will fail for loadcenter not to be used as raceway, we argued this was not in the code and the inspector said you are right, it is in the manufacture instructions, do it right and i will be back.

[This message has been edited by LK (edited 09-26-2004).]

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42780 09/26/04 06:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
N
Norstarr Offline
Member
Say LK, I'm lost on how that inspector is calling the panel a raceway because you ran the conductors from the bottom of the panel to the terminations at the top. Seems to me the same would apply with branch circuits entering at the bottom and running to a top breaker. I would be willing to bet that the manuf meaning is to not allow conductors to run through the panel without terminating. As to limiting the number of splices in a panel, it must be an opinion of the local inspector. Do they have a written ordinance requiring this or does each electrician find out the hard way? Makes for a lot of extra work.

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42781 09/26/04 10:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Norstarr,

Yes thst was my understanding of the manufacture, they say gutter and i belive they mean riser feeds, however more then one inspector has knocked this method down, good topic to bring to inspector site.
As for the splicing in the panel, most inspectors in my area will let one or two get by.

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42782 09/26/04 11:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
FYI, Square D has a "remodel" panel with a built-in splice block for splicing all those pesky wires that end up too short when you replace a panel. I wonder what your inspector whould think about that??

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42783 09/27/04 07:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
LK I'll count this as another misguided inspector. [Linked Image]

Re: Alum/Copper bus Panels #42784 09/27/04 07:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Solar,

There is a QO Remod Panel?
The Supply house asked if i had any numbers, do you have more info.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,700 Are you busy
204,940 Re: Forum
193,051 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3