ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by gfretwell - 07/28/21 10:06 PM
Lowes Selling this fan
by timmp - 07/25/21 10:58 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
New in the Gallery:
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Red Green would be proud
Red Green would be proud
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 47 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#40227 07/15/04 09:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,287
Member
From an e-mail I received:
Quote
I have a sixteen circuit panel (Pushmatic Electri Center)that has the MAIN located about 1/3 of the way down the box. There are six circuits above it, that stay live when the MAIN is tripped. The ten below the main all go dead. Is there a way to move the MAIN to the top of the panel, and open up these additional circuits, so it's safe?
The main mount to the bar looks to be very unique!?
How was this ever approved in the past, or do you think someone moved it there?
Anything you can tell me about this box would be appreciated!

Bob Stubbs

#40228 07/15/04 10:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
E
Junior Member
I do beleive this was what used to be called a slit buss panel. If the breakers above the main do not exceed the six disconnect rule it is legal for this set up. We still find a few of these panel in use in our area.

#40229 07/16/04 07:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
T
Member
I'm sure you can't move the main on the buss,but you can put a main ahead of the panal.

#40230 07/16/04 11:00 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 33
D
Member
yup, thats exactaly the way mine is, thers 5 disc above the main, then i think 12 or 14 below, speaking of pushmatics, i just had to replace the dp for the dryer, it kept tripping although it wasnt overloaded, i guess it just wore out, that breaker cost almost 60 bucks...

#40231 07/17/04 02:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
E
Junior Member
Hey DetroiterRob I had a double pole 100 as a main go bad in a panel a few weeks ago and our cost was 130.00 it's almost cost effective to replace the whole panel if you have a couple of breakers go bad.

#40232 07/17/04 04:20 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 33
D
Member
Ouch...... i would love to get rid of the pushmatics, and all the old bx(1920's) and get everthing up to code here, and in the other 2 residences on the property....but id doubt thatll ever happen


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 8
Rachel 4
djk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
281,588 Are you busy
215,225 Re: Forum
202,069 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5