ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 11/17/18 11:19 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (jake2018), 19 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Lighting Load questions #219586
09/05/18 07:50 AM
09/05/18 07:50 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
Lights
9 400 watt lights on circuit

9 x 400 = 3600 watts

3600 x 125% (continuous duty) = 4500

4500 divided by 240 -= 18.75 amps

to close for 20 amp breaker?????

Could you jump wire up to #10 & put 25 amp breaker?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219587
09/05/18 10:24 AM
09/05/18 10:24 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
I'm getting this idea off 210.23 (c) 30 amp branch circuits (( 2014 NEC page 70-59.))

There are 9 plug connected 400 W fixtures on this circuit.

If can use the 30 amp rule =1 circuit two pole brk 25 amp
if not = 2 circuits two two pole brk 20 amp

Yoopersup

Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219588
09/05/18 11:19 AM
09/05/18 11:19 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,304
Estero,Fl,usa
You have already taken into account the 80% factor. It should be fine on a 20 with #12. The only issue might be inrush if this is an inductive load.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219589
09/05/18 12:33 PM
09/05/18 12:33 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
Yoop:

You may want to check the spec on the fixture/ballast. You didn't say if MH, or HPS, or ??

MH 400 watt is 460 watts +/- operating current.


John
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219590
09/05/18 03:29 PM
09/05/18 03:29 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,304
Estero,Fl,usa
Good catch John. If that is true it does take you over the 16a max on a 20a circuit so you will be on a 25/30 or split it between 2 circuits for a little redundancy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219591
09/05/18 07:16 PM
09/05/18 07:16 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
As the EC, I would do 2 circuits, 20 amp @ 240 volt. I did a lot of lighting as an EC back in the day, both interior and site lighting. A lot of design/ build, retrofit HPS to MH (no LED back then) . We even eliminated LPS site lighting.

Yoop has 9 fixtures, probably 3 rows of 3 ea., so a 5/4 split would not be bad, one row of 3 with the center of the next row, then the balance of 5.

I wonder IF he considered LED, or T-5 high bays??

There's a lot of LED retro going on here, and I'm amazed at the rapidly changing technology. I just started plan review today on some crazy 'arcade' in a mall, and it is 99% LED. A recent Apple retail store is 100% LED, with a gorgeous evenly lit ceiling in the whole retail area.


John
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219599
09/06/18 05:27 PM
09/06/18 05:27 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
The total area is 6 rows of 9 Green house grow lights.

They want to be able to put each row on a time clock.

Led lights (which I brought up) four or more times the cost

Additional Info .

Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219607
09/06/18 09:36 PM
09/06/18 09:36 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,304
Estero,Fl,usa
If John is right about the total load (ballast plus lights = 4600w) your original plan may be the way to go (25a/ 10ga wire). If you find out it is really only 400w per luminaire, you can do 20a / 12ga.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219610
09/10/18 12:40 PM
09/10/18 12:40 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
Greg:

As I do not have all the catalogs I used to have in my home office, and this is 'bugging' me, I found this limited info today.

https://unvlt.com/pdf/literature/navigator/pdfs/BNC_Sect_4_HID.pdf

Hopefully this paste job comes up as a link to ballast info.

The good info is on page 4-17, 'input watts'!


Last edited by HotLine1; 09/10/18 12:42 PM. Reason: add page info

John
Re: Lighting Load questions [Re: Yoopersup] #219612
09/10/18 04:25 PM
09/10/18 04:25 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,304
Estero,Fl,usa
I see that. It appears that all of those lights carry an overhead beyond the nominal watt rating of the light. My only question is whether the "max amps" is the initial starting current or the continuous load once they start and settle down. That would make a difference when you were calculating the continuous load.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,556 Are you busy
188,715 Re: Forum
178,427 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0269 MB (Peak: 1.2098 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-18 05:55:56 UTC