ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Stuff that happens after we leave
by HotLine1 - 06/17/24 03:53 PM
photocell requirement for metal halide ballasts
by gfretwell - 06/17/24 01:44 PM
Commercial lift stations
by triple - 06/09/24 05:23 PM
Photo cell diagram for MH100w light
by Wayles3 - 06/02/24 07:32 AM
Chinese motors rated 59.9A 220 v 50hertz
by gfretwell - 05/30/24 08:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 280 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#219098 01/22/18 11:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
D
New Member
I have a 208-277 photocell on a LED wallpack and the supply voltage is reading 286v. When I cover the photocell the light does not come on but if I disconnect the neutral wire from the B phase and reconnect it the light comes on for 10 secs like normal. The issue is the photocell is covered and the light still turns off. Will the incoming voltage of 286 make the photocell not work correctly because it is out of the voltage range or is it just a bad photocell.

Docholiday #219099 01/22/18 06:06 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
Do you have line and load reversed?

Docholiday #219181 02/28/18 08:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 70
Member
That voltage of 286 is actually fine. I would be more concerned if the line and low are backwards like twh stated. You probably have it figured out by now.

Docholiday #219182 03/01/18 09:16 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,386
Likes: 7
Member
The OP said 'if I disconnect the neutral wire from 'b' phase.....' ??

IS that a mis-statement, or does he have 480 volt going to the PC??

Black to line (phase a, b, or c), white to neutral, and red to load.



John
Docholiday #219194 03/10/18 12:04 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,443
Likes: 3
Member
I would like to ask OP what sort of "photo-cell" he is actually using.
It could be that the photo-cell is either set up in the wrong mode or the sensitivity level is set wrong, these things are not "plug and play".
At the end of the day all these things are is a voltage in through two terminals and a single change-over contact on the output (NO/NC), with a common terminal

Last edited by Trumpy; 03/10/18 12:08 AM. Reason: Added last bit.

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5