ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by NORCAL - 01/22/21 06:18 PM
Can I ask for your input?
by HotLine1 - 01/22/21 01:52 PM
T8 to LED retrofit-ballast or bypass?
by NORCAL - 01/22/21 11:01 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 01/16/21 10:29 AM
Photo Editing Software?
by grich - 01/13/21 11:18 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Generator Cable Sizing #218792 10/15/17 01:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
B
brsele Offline OP
Member
How does everybody here size the cable for home standby generators? Here's the situation... A customer called me for a Generac generator. He has already installed #3 TECK cable (along with the control cable) from where the generator will sit, to the house. I believe that the OESC, CEC and NEC all agree that this cable is rated for 100 amps. If it's a continuous load, you're not supposed to exceed 80% or 80 amps. The customer wants the biggest generator he can get on this cable.
Generac says:
16kW - Max rated load of 66.6A, protected by a 70A breaker
20kW - Max rated load of 83.3A, protected by a 100A breaker
22kW - Max rated load of 91.7A, protected by a 100A breaker
Which generator would you choose?
Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218796 10/15/17 07:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Unless it's a continuous rated generator (unlikely in this size/price range), it's not capable of supplying continuous service; standby rated generators are only capable of 70% average load for 200 hours/year. If it has an integrated breaker, you don't need to oversize the conductors; that breaker's probably only 80% rated anyway. He should be good up to 24kVA standby on a 100A cable. Is that 22kW really 100% rated as the Amps suggest, or is that some sort of fine-print marketing?

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/15/17 07:31 PM.
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218797 10/16/17 08:04 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Unless the sole load on the generator is electric heat...and it's running 24/7 none of the typical residential installations are a continuous load.
I don't see a problem using the pre-installed cable at 100% of its rating.
Keep in mind that the ratings of the generators assume a completely balanced load.


Ghost307
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218799 10/16/17 06:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,227
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Going for the 22 KW unit may be the best choice depending on the $$$ differences over the 20 KW.

Based on the permits I process, 22 KW units are in the majority, followed by 20s, and 16s are few.

Common is a 200 ATS, 22 KW Gen, 100 gen, 200 utility, to the existing 200 amp panel (w/neutrals/grounds separated) and load shed for the HVACs, etc.


John
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218806 10/18/17 06:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
B
brsele Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the responses.
22kW it is then. It really is helpful to be able to bounce things off of others.
Cheers


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,155
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 15
NORCAL 12
Popular Topics(Views)
274,099 Are you busy
207,886 Re: Forum
195,549 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3