ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Generator Cable Sizing #218792
10/15/17 01:46 PM
10/15/17 01:46 PM
B
brsele  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
Northern Ontario
How does everybody here size the cable for home standby generators? Here's the situation... A customer called me for a Generac generator. He has already installed #3 TECK cable (along with the control cable) from where the generator will sit, to the house. I believe that the OESC, CEC and NEC all agree that this cable is rated for 100 amps. If it's a continuous load, you're not supposed to exceed 80% or 80 amps. The customer wants the biggest generator he can get on this cable.
Generac says:
16kW - Max rated load of 66.6A, protected by a 70A breaker
20kW - Max rated load of 83.3A, protected by a 100A breaker
22kW - Max rated load of 91.7A, protected by a 100A breaker
Which generator would you choose?
Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218796
10/15/17 07:26 PM
10/15/17 07:26 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Unless it's a continuous rated generator (unlikely in this size/price range), it's not capable of supplying continuous service; standby rated generators are only capable of 70% average load for 200 hours/year. If it has an integrated breaker, you don't need to oversize the conductors; that breaker's probably only 80% rated anyway. He should be good up to 24kVA standby on a 100A cable. Is that 22kW really 100% rated as the Amps suggest, or is that some sort of fine-print marketing?

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/15/17 07:31 PM.
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218797
10/16/17 08:04 AM
10/16/17 08:04 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 963
Chicago Illinois USA
Unless the sole load on the generator is electric heat...and it's running 24/7 none of the typical residential installations are a continuous load.
I don't see a problem using the pre-installed cable at 100% of its rating.
Keep in mind that the ratings of the generators assume a completely balanced load.


Ghost307
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218799
10/16/17 06:13 PM
10/16/17 06:13 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,050
Brick, NJ USA
Going for the 22 KW unit may be the best choice depending on the $$$ differences over the 20 KW.

Based on the permits I process, 22 KW units are in the majority, followed by 20s, and 16s are few.

Common is a 200 ATS, 22 KW Gen, 100 gen, 200 utility, to the existing 200 amp panel (w/neutrals/grounds separated) and load shed for the HVACs, etc.


John
Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele] #218806
10/18/17 06:39 PM
10/18/17 06:39 PM
B
brsele  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
Northern Ontario
Thanks for the responses.
22kW it is then. It really is helpful to be able to bounce things off of others.
Cheers


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,137 Are you busy
189,143 Re: Forum
178,815 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9688 MB (Peak: 1.1090 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-11 02:28:19 UTC