ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 3
Recent Posts
Ceiling fan distance from outdoor hot tub
by gfretwell. 11/16/17 02:18 AM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 11/13/17 03:02 PM
Theft deterrent alarm
by gfretwell. 11/12/17 01:39 PM
EEPROM errors on XC7Z010-2CLG225I chip
by twh. 11/07/17 05:45 PM
Blackened bare copper in panel ?
by twh. 11/04/17 11:16 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,543 Are you busy
178,715 Re: Forum
169,989 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#218792 - 10/15/17 01:46 PM Generator Cable Sizing  
brsele  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Northern Ontario
How does everybody here size the cable for home standby generators? Here's the situation... A customer called me for a Generac generator. He has already installed #3 TECK cable (along with the control cable) from where the generator will sit, to the house. I believe that the OESC, CEC and NEC all agree that this cable is rated for 100 amps. If it's a continuous load, you're not supposed to exceed 80% or 80 amps. The customer wants the biggest generator he can get on this cable.
Generac says:
16kW - Max rated load of 66.6A, protected by a 70A breaker
20kW - Max rated load of 83.3A, protected by a 100A breaker
22kW - Max rated load of 91.7A, protected by a 100A breaker
Which generator would you choose?
Thanks


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#218796 - 10/15/17 07:26 PM Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele]  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Unless it's a continuous rated generator (unlikely in this size/price range), it's not capable of supplying continuous service; standby rated generators are only capable of 70% average load for 200 hours/year. If it has an integrated breaker, you don't need to oversize the conductors; that breaker's probably only 80% rated anyway. He should be good up to 24kVA standby on a 100A cable. Is that 22kW really 100% rated as the Amps suggest, or is that some sort of fine-print marketing?

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/15/17 07:31 PM.

#218797 - 10/16/17 08:04 AM Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele]  
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 917
Chicago Illinois USA
Unless the sole load on the generator is electric heat...and it's running 24/7 none of the typical residential installations are a continuous load.
I don't see a problem using the pre-installed cable at 100% of its rating.
Keep in mind that the ratings of the generators assume a completely balanced load.


Ghost307

#218799 - 10/16/17 06:13 PM Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,874
Brick, NJ USA
Going for the 22 KW unit may be the best choice depending on the $$$ differences over the 20 KW.

Based on the permits I process, 22 KW units are in the majority, followed by 20s, and 16s are few.

Common is a 200 ATS, 22 KW Gen, 100 gen, 200 utility, to the existing 200 amp panel (w/neutrals/grounds separated) and load shed for the HVACs, etc.


John

#218806 - 10/18/17 06:39 PM Re: Generator Cable Sizing [Re: brsele]  
brsele  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Northern Ontario
Thanks for the responses.
22kW it is then. It really is helpful to be able to bounce things off of others.
Cheers



Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7691 MB (Peak: 0.9085 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-11-18 04:39:40 UTC