ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Southwire Recalls Electrical Outlet Boxes
by Admin - 08/21/19 06:39 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
75 kva tranformer #218765 09/23/17 06:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Been a while since I've had to figure a 3 phase load. I've got a customer that already has a 175 amp 3 phase panel installed. They're dividing their building up to put a tanning bed business in. The lights, etc. for the tanning bed side are already coming out of the existing panel. They are planning on putting (5) 3 phase tanning beds in and each one has an actual amperage of 37 amps. I'm not sure, but I think I would have to figure each one at 100% or more (continuous duty, 3 hrs or more). If I just figure 100%, that's 185 amps. They have a 75 kva transformer feeding the building. On 3 phase, how do I figure the load it can handle? Do I just divide 240 into 75,000 ? I'm thinking there is something else I'm missing.
Thanks for the help.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218768 09/27/17 03:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
208 x 1.73 = 359.84 round up use 360

75000 divided by 360 = 208.33 amps

yoopersup

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218769 09/28/17 01:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Had someone else figure it: 75000 / (208 x 1.73)= 208.3333 × 1.25 = 260.416 amps

Which way is right? And wonder where the 1.25 came from?
Thanks

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218770 09/28/17 03:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
You can fuse the secondary 125% . transformers still only good for 208 amps.

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218771 09/28/17 06:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,280
electure Offline
Member
Originally Posted by sparkync
And wonder where the 1.25 came from?


You said that it was a continuous load and continuous loads are figured at 125%

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218772 09/29/17 09:34 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
If the load is continuous you multiply the LOAD by 1.25...not the source.
So if your 37 Amp tanning beds are continuous you need to treat them as (37x1.25)=46.25 Amp loads.

If you'd rather move the calculation to the transformer you would multiply the transformer rating by the inverse of 1.25 (which is 0.8).
That means that you would treat your 208Amp transformer output as a source that is capable of supplying (208x0.8)=166.4 Amps.
Since it is rare that a transformer feeds ONLY continuous loads pretty much nobody uses the 0.8 method...it's just a thumbnail shortcut.

Last edited by ghost307; 09/29/17 09:43 AM. Reason: typo

Ghost307
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: ghost307] #218773 09/29/17 01:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
450.3(B) ((Primary & secondary Protection.)) Secondary 125% see note 1

Three Phase Transformer
KVA 208V 240V
45 125 108
50 139 120
60 167 145
75 208 181

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218774 09/29/17 08:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,105
HotLine1 Offline
Member
sparkync:

First thing before you jump into this....

Are the tanning beds 208 volt or 240 volt?? Careful!

Check the nameplates an each unit. If the existing transformer is 120/208 and you need 240 you will need buck/boost transformer(s).

BTW, common practice for 75 KVA 480-120/208 is 200 amp MOCP, or some engineers push to 225 amp MOCP.


John
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218775 10/01/17 10:35 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Unless the transformer is only feeding a single load I'd use a 225A main breaker to feed a panel.
Most of the panelboard manufacturers have standardized their bussing as 125A or 225A so there shouldn't be a cost impact.
The only time that I would choke a 75kva transformer to 96% of its rating is if I'm using fuses and there's not enough room to mount a 400A switch fused at 225A.


Ghost307

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 23
GeneSF 8
Popular Topics(Views)
257,919 Are you busy
193,656 Re: Forum
183,272 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3