ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
75 kva tranformer #218765
09/23/17 06:41 PM
09/23/17 06:41 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Been a while since I've had to figure a 3 phase load. I've got a customer that already has a 175 amp 3 phase panel installed. They're dividing their building up to put a tanning bed business in. The lights, etc. for the tanning bed side are already coming out of the existing panel. They are planning on putting (5) 3 phase tanning beds in and each one has an actual amperage of 37 amps. I'm not sure, but I think I would have to figure each one at 100% or more (continuous duty, 3 hrs or more). If I just figure 100%, that's 185 amps. They have a 75 kva transformer feeding the building. On 3 phase, how do I figure the load it can handle? Do I just divide 240 into 75,000 ? I'm thinking there is something else I'm missing.
Thanks for the help.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218768
09/27/17 03:09 PM
09/27/17 03:09 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 842
Michigan
208 x 1.73 = 359.84 round up use 360

75000 divided by 360 = 208.33 amps

yoopersup

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218769
09/28/17 01:33 PM
09/28/17 01:33 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Had someone else figure it: 75000 / (208 x 1.73)= 208.3333 × 1.25 = 260.416 amps

Which way is right? And wonder where the 1.25 came from?
Thanks

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218770
09/28/17 03:49 PM
09/28/17 03:49 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 842
Michigan
You can fuse the secondary 125% . transformers still only good for 208 amps.

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218771
09/28/17 06:46 PM
09/28/17 06:46 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
Originally Posted by sparkync
And wonder where the 1.25 came from?


You said that it was a continuous load and continuous loads are figured at 125%

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218772
09/29/17 09:34 AM
09/29/17 09:34 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Chicago Illinois USA
If the load is continuous you multiply the LOAD by 1.25...not the source.
So if your 37 Amp tanning beds are continuous you need to treat them as (37x1.25)=46.25 Amp loads.

If you'd rather move the calculation to the transformer you would multiply the transformer rating by the inverse of 1.25 (which is 0.8).
That means that you would treat your 208Amp transformer output as a source that is capable of supplying (208x0.8)=166.4 Amps.
Since it is rare that a transformer feeds ONLY continuous loads pretty much nobody uses the 0.8 method...it's just a thumbnail shortcut.

Last edited by ghost307; 09/29/17 09:43 AM. Reason: typo

Ghost307
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: ghost307] #218773
09/29/17 01:11 PM
09/29/17 01:11 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 842
Michigan
450.3(B) ((Primary & secondary Protection.)) Secondary 125% see note 1

Three Phase Transformer
KVA 208V 240V
45 125 108
50 139 120
60 167 145
75 208 181

Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218774
09/29/17 08:05 PM
09/29/17 08:05 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,985
Brick, NJ USA
sparkync:

First thing before you jump into this....

Are the tanning beds 208 volt or 240 volt?? Careful!

Check the nameplates an each unit. If the existing transformer is 120/208 and you need 240 you will need buck/boost transformer(s).

BTW, common practice for 75 KVA 480-120/208 is 200 amp MOCP, or some engineers push to 225 amp MOCP.


John
Re: 75 kva tranformer [Re: sparkync] #218775
10/01/17 10:35 AM
10/01/17 10:35 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Chicago Illinois USA
Unless the transformer is only feeding a single load I'd use a 225A main breaker to feed a panel.
Most of the panelboard manufacturers have standardized their bussing as 125A or 225A so there shouldn't be a cost impact.
The only time that I would choke a 75kva transformer to 96% of its rating is if I'm using fuses and there's not enough room to mount a 400A switch fused at 225A.


Ghost307

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,148 Are you busy
185,614 Re: Forum
174,951 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.029s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0024 MB (Peak: 1.1736 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-21 07:58:46 UTC