ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Look at this mess...
by NORCAL - 11/15/19 10:21 PM
Fire source!
by sabrown - 11/07/19 08:39 AM
Parallel Conductor Divisor
by LongRunner - 11/04/19 02:21 AM
FPE in Germany
by Texas_Ranger - 10/29/19 05:12 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 73 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
120/208 volt/240 volts #218387 04/11/17 08:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
I'm posting another question on another subject. Didn't want to confuse the two together. I have another job where a piece of equipment needs 240 volts. The nameplate on the panel says 120/208. That's pretty self explanatory, but then under it, it has 240 volts. Why would it have both voltages on the same panel nameplate? I'm under the assumption that I would have to set a "buck boost" transformer to get the 240 I need. Am I missing something?

Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218390 04/13/17 07:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
A
andey Offline
Member
What kind of equipment is it? Electronic / solid state power supply? one, two, three phase?
There are modern electronic equipments that self-adapt to the line voltage, as most Computer power supplies nowadays read something like "100...240V".
Can the manufacturer still be contacted? That would be the best way to be sure

Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: andey] #218392 04/13/17 01:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Equipment is a deep fat fryer, that emphatically states not to hook it up on any voltage other than what is required, which is 240 volts.

Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218393 04/13/17 02:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,412
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I imagine it might not be able to reach it's full capacity at 208v. It will still work but if you are cooking lots of stuff in quick succession it may not be able to keep up. This may end up being a pretty big transformer too.
This also may explain why that cluster of restaurants I mentioned in Key West still clings to it's delta supply. It is the only one I have ever seen that had 3 transformers. I bet they were all heavily invested in 240v cooking equipment.

[Linked Image]

Last edited by gfretwell; 04/13/17 02:23 PM.

Greg Fretwell
Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218399 04/15/17 04:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Don't confuse the panel enclosure with the panel bus assembly. Panel enclosures are often listed for use at different voltages, and will have a generic one-label-fits-all covering all the applications that enclosure is used for. It doesn't mean that it IS either of those voltages, just that it's listed for it and could come with either voltage. You'll need to check and see if that panel is wired 120/208Y or 120/240V 1-phase.

Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218401 04/16/17 01:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
B
bigpapa Offline
Member
Anything with a heating load component is gonna use significantly less wattage. Induction motors won't like it either.

Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218409 04/17/17 07:47 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Already verified at the equipment that it has 211 volts, which is obviously a 120/208 service. The customer is getting someone else to hook the fryer up. The only way he can hook it up right and according to the nameplate of the new fryer, is to set a buck boost transformer which I have already ordered and the customer don't want to pay for. The other electrician told her hooking it up on 208 volts should work ok, but I told her she would be voiding the warranty. My original post was wondering if I had missed something. When I told her if he didn't hook it up right, it would void the warranty, she said he was going to hook it up right frown
How can that be without a transformer? Either he's a fly by night electrician or I'm missing something terribly bad. The manual specifically says NOT TO HOOK IT UP OTHER THAN WHAT'S ON THE NAMEPLATE.:(
Thanks again.

Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218412 04/17/17 02:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,412
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I think I would try to talk to the manufacturer. These things are usually just toaster wire in a submerged element and the effect of a lower voltage is just lower heat output. Performance would be the main problem. It might not recover from successive loads of frozen fries as fast as it is supposed to. Of course in a high volume operation that might be a show stopper. Have they looked to see if there is a 208v element?
That would probably be cheaper than a transformer.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218416 04/17/17 06:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
I agree with Greg, ask the manufacturer. If it's just resistance heat, hooking it up 211V would give 77% of the rated power which means it would take a little longer to warm up and might not be worth the cost of a boost transformer.

Last edited by SteveFehr; 04/17/17 06:28 PM.
Re: 120/208 volt/240 volts [Re: sparkync] #218417 04/17/17 08:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
We got the one that sent them the equipment on the phone right after we found that "she" ( my customer) had ordered the wrong one. They told her just what I had told her, but we called just to verify it. She had it on speaker phone so there were several witnesses. Even after that she still decides to get someone else to hook it up on 208 volts. I guess it her problem, except she was the one who told me to go ahead and order the transformers, then 2 days later tells me to cancel the order. Only problem is that they were already shipped frown Now she will have to pay a 20% restocking fee plus freight both ways for them to take them back. Anyway, thanks for the input. When she said the other electrician was going to hook it up right, I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something. Maybe he's already got the transformers, I don't know. Thing about it, it sure will void the warranty if something ever happens to it.

Thanks again..


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
260,797 Are you busy
195,849 Re: Forum
185,227 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3