ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Bill Addiss. 01/17/18 11:11 PM
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by LongRunner. 01/17/18 10:32 AM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tracking Live wires . #217079
04/29/16 04:12 PM
04/29/16 04:12 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
What do they make that you can trace a wire from Device or Motor to the Panel to get the correct circuit without shutting the power off. Some of the loads run 24/7 And are not marked correctly.
Both 3 phase & single phase.
Thank you
Yoopersup

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217080
04/30/16 02:29 AM
04/30/16 02:29 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
There are breaker finders that insert some kind of signal on the wire that you can pick up with the tester at the breaker end. The one I have is 120v only tho (a wall wart looking sender). I put a 1-15 receptacle on a pigtail with some insulated clips so I can use it on a circuit without a receptacle handy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217081
04/30/16 11:22 AM
04/30/16 11:22 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 925
Regina, Sask.
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.

A telephone toner will work on a dead circuit.

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: twh] #217082
04/30/16 06:36 PM
04/30/16 06:36 PM
B
brsele  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 94
Northern Ontario
Originally Posted by twh
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.


So can I ask what do you use for cycling?
I've been looking for one of those flashers people used to use at Christmas, but they don't sell them where I am.

Thanks

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: brsele] #217085
05/01/16 01:00 AM
05/01/16 01:00 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 925
Regina, Sask.
For a cycling load, I have a couple magnetic heaters inside a 10x10 JB with a heat sink from an old VFD opposite the heaters. They cycle on for about a second and off for about 3 seconds.

It takes about one second for an ammeter to give a good reading. The off time is longer to reduce the heat.

I have an ammeter with forks that slip over the wires so I don't have to clamp on to each wire.

Sometimes the panel feeders have a steady enough load that the phase can be determined, which reduces the number of tests on breakers.

This is a result of an incorrectly labelled breaker that the circuit tracer also incorrectly identified. It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke. If an electrician makes a mistake, they want to see blood on the walls.

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217088
05/01/16 12:43 PM
05/01/16 12:43 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
Quote
It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke.


Trust me, when the computers are down, there are still plenty of people who want to see some blood on the wall. wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217092
05/01/16 10:39 PM
05/01/16 10:39 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
Most the Loads I am talking about are 3 phase 480 v motor loads.
120 Volt loads are not a problem/
Still Looking


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 20
sparky 18
Potseal 14
Popular Topics(Views)
243,547 Are you busy
180,353 Re: Forum
170,835 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9858 MB (Peak: 1.1394 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-19 11:14:40 UTC