ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 02/18/19 02:01 PM
250.104
by gfretwell. 02/16/19 01:08 PM
PurpleAir Recalls Power Supply Units
by Admin. 02/14/19 08:43 PM
Utility Company Programs
by katty81. 02/14/19 11:11 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Trumpy. 02/14/19 12:29 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Texas_Ranger), 8 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tracking Live wires . #217079
04/29/16 04:12 PM
04/29/16 04:12 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
What do they make that you can trace a wire from Device or Motor to the Panel to get the correct circuit without shutting the power off. Some of the loads run 24/7 And are not marked correctly.
Both 3 phase & single phase.
Thank you
Yoopersup

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217080
04/30/16 02:29 AM
04/30/16 02:29 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,337
Estero,Fl,usa
There are breaker finders that insert some kind of signal on the wire that you can pick up with the tester at the breaker end. The one I have is 120v only tho (a wall wart looking sender). I put a 1-15 receptacle on a pigtail with some insulated clips so I can use it on a circuit without a receptacle handy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217081
04/30/16 11:22 AM
04/30/16 11:22 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
Regina, Sask.
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.

A telephone toner will work on a dead circuit.

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: twh] #217082
04/30/16 06:36 PM
04/30/16 06:36 PM
B
brsele  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
Northern Ontario
Originally Posted by twh
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.


So can I ask what do you use for cycling?
I've been looking for one of those flashers people used to use at Christmas, but they don't sell them where I am.

Thanks

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: brsele] #217085
05/01/16 01:00 AM
05/01/16 01:00 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
Regina, Sask.
For a cycling load, I have a couple magnetic heaters inside a 10x10 JB with a heat sink from an old VFD opposite the heaters. They cycle on for about a second and off for about 3 seconds.

It takes about one second for an ammeter to give a good reading. The off time is longer to reduce the heat.

I have an ammeter with forks that slip over the wires so I don't have to clamp on to each wire.

Sometimes the panel feeders have a steady enough load that the phase can be determined, which reduces the number of tests on breakers.

This is a result of an incorrectly labelled breaker that the circuit tracer also incorrectly identified. It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke. If an electrician makes a mistake, they want to see blood on the walls.

Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217088
05/01/16 12:43 PM
05/01/16 12:43 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,337
Estero,Fl,usa
Quote
It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke.


Trust me, when the computers are down, there are still plenty of people who want to see some blood on the wall. wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup] #217092
05/01/16 10:39 PM
05/01/16 10:39 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
Most the Loads I am talking about are 3 phase 480 v motor loads.
120 Volt loads are not a problem/
Still Looking


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,260
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
andey 3
Popular Topics(Views)
253,236 Are you busy
189,883 Re: Forum
179,588 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.029s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9861 MB (Peak: 1.1397 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-02-18 20:37:21 UTC