ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 3
Recent Posts
Ceiling fan distance from outdoor hot tub
by gfretwell. 11/16/17 02:18 AM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 11/13/17 03:02 PM
Theft deterrent alarm
by gfretwell. 11/12/17 01:39 PM
EEPROM errors on XC7Z010-2CLG225I chip
by twh. 11/07/17 05:45 PM
Blackened bare copper in panel ?
by twh. 11/04/17 11:16 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,543 Are you busy
178,715 Re: Forum
169,989 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#217079 - 04/29/16 04:12 PM Tracking Live wires .  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 834
Michigan
What do they make that you can trace a wire from Device or Motor to the Panel to get the correct circuit without shutting the power off. Some of the loads run 24/7 And are not marked correctly.
Both 3 phase & single phase.
Thank you
Yoopersup


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#217080 - 04/30/16 02:29 AM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,135
Estero,Fl,usa
There are breaker finders that insert some kind of signal on the wire that you can pick up with the tester at the breaker end. The one I have is 120v only tho (a wall wart looking sender). I put a 1-15 receptacle on a pigtail with some insulated clips so I can use it on a circuit without a receptacle handy.


Greg Fretwell

#217081 - 04/30/16 11:22 AM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 922
Regina, Sask.
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.

A telephone toner will work on a dead circuit.


#217082 - 04/30/16 06:36 PM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: twh]  
brsele  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Northern Ontario
Originally Posted by twh
I tried a couple different tracers that are plugged into an outlet and have had some success and some failures. When I'm turning off a plug circuit that really has to be right, I built a box with a 4 amp cycling load so I can verify the circuit with a clamp-on ammeter.


So can I ask what do you use for cycling?
I've been looking for one of those flashers people used to use at Christmas, but they don't sell them where I am.

Thanks


#217085 - 05/01/16 01:00 AM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: brsele]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 922
Regina, Sask.
For a cycling load, I have a couple magnetic heaters inside a 10x10 JB with a heat sink from an old VFD opposite the heaters. They cycle on for about a second and off for about 3 seconds.

It takes about one second for an ammeter to give a good reading. The off time is longer to reduce the heat.

I have an ammeter with forks that slip over the wires so I don't have to clamp on to each wire.

Sometimes the panel feeders have a steady enough load that the phase can be determined, which reduces the number of tests on breakers.

This is a result of an incorrectly labelled breaker that the circuit tracer also incorrectly identified. It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke. If an electrician makes a mistake, they want to see blood on the walls.


#217088 - 05/01/16 12:43 PM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,135
Estero,Fl,usa
Quote
It's a funny thing. If the power goes out on computers, everyone goes outside for a smoke.


Trust me, when the computers are down, there are still plenty of people who want to see some blood on the wall. wink


Greg Fretwell

#217092 - 05/01/16 10:39 PM Re: Tracking Live wires . [Re: Yoopersup]  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 834
Michigan
Most the Loads I am talking about are 3 phase 480 v motor loads.
120 Volt loads are not a problem/
Still Looking



Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7868 MB (Peak: 0.9434 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-11-18 04:35:31 UTC