ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#213122 03/22/14 05:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
In the project I am doing, I have 4 circuits feeding overhead florescent lighting on 4 separate switches. The architect has drawn in a 16 recess gimble type emergency lights. Code reference 700.12 (F)under exception #1,says that I can run a separate circuit for the "unit lighting" instead of having to be on the same circuit if the qualifications are met. It says the minimum is 3 and I have 4 so as far as I can see I meet these qualifications. And it is in a separate and uninterrrupted area (no walls)and all lights are coming from the same panelboard, and I can put a lock on the breaker that controls the emergency lighting circuit. I was about to miss this exception and wire the related emergency lights ahead of each switched circuit. Am I thinking right? Thanks

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Yep U are.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Unfortunately for the owner, the electrical engineer has chose to ignore the "exception", and is requiring that each set of emergency lights in the area of each circuit be tied in ahead of the switch in that circuit. I know that the NEC is only a minimum. I tried:(


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5