ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by HotLine1 - 09/19/19 01:34 PM
Kichler Lighting Recalls Pendant Lights
by Admin - 09/18/19 08:47 PM
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:14 AM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
generator install #206602 07/19/12 10:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
schenimann Offline OP
Member
I am pricing a 20ke gen install. The house has a panel back to back with the meter base. When I bring my 4 wire to the panel that currently has 3 wires do I need to separate the grounds an neutrals?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206606 07/19/12 10:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
What kind of transfer equipment are you using? Do you switch the neutral?

The objective is to have one and only one bonding jumper at any time.


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206609 07/19/12 11:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
schenimann Offline OP
Member
The HO purchased a kholer gen and a transfer switch from HD. I don't think the neutral will switch.

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206611 07/20/12 12:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
If you do not switch the neutral, your service bonding jumper is the jumper you use so you want to isolate the neutral at the generator. This is not a separately derived system. You still bond the EGC of the generator to the grounding system at the house.


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206612 07/20/12 12:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
schenimann Offline OP
Member
I will install a disconnect before the switch. At that disconnect I will isolate the neutral from there. From the switch to the panel I will have them isolated. However, they are not currently isolated in the panel. I will need to separate them in the panel, correct.

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206614 07/20/12 01:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
If you isolate the neutral in the panel, where is the main bonding jumper?


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206616 07/20/12 09:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
W
wire_twister Offline
Member
The Kohler switches I have installed have an isolated neutral buss with enough space for a neutral from the disconect, the load, and the genset, making the main bonding jumper in the meter pan the only one, weather you are on utility or generator power.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206617 07/20/12 11:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Exactly right Jimmy. The thing is you only have one bonding jumper. It is there in any configuration but only one at a time. If you switch the neutral, the bonding jumper moves with it.

Soares has some great pictures, at least they did have on my ancient copy.



Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206636 07/26/12 08:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 610
S
shortcircuit Offline
Member
If your doing a whole house transfer, Kohler has a Service Entrace rated transfer switch and the neutral bond will be made there. You need to seperate all neutral and grounds at the exisisting main panel because it is now downstream from the main disconnect. (remove the bond screw also)

You will also have to relocate your grounding electrode conductor from the existing panel to the new service entrance rated transfer switch.

shortcircuit

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206644 07/27/12 06:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
schenimann Offline OP
Member
The HO purchased the package from Lowes that comes with the standard transfer switch and not the service entrace switch. Therefore I will need to put in a 200amp disconnect before the switch. The bond will be made in the disconnect and everything else will be seperated downstream.

I worded it wrong in my previous post. When I said separate my grounds and neutral at the disconnect I meant they would be bonded there and go out separate after that to the switch and panel.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,112
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
258,664 Are you busy
194,246 Re: Forum
183,716 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3