ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/19/18 02:34 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
generator install #206602
07/19/12 09:14 PM
07/19/12 09:14 PM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
I am pricing a 20ke gen install. The house has a panel back to back with the meter base. When I bring my 4 wire to the panel that currently has 3 wires do I need to separate the grounds an neutrals?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206606
07/19/12 09:45 PM
07/19/12 09:45 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,305
Estero,Fl,usa
What kind of transfer equipment are you using? Do you switch the neutral?

The objective is to have one and only one bonding jumper at any time.


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206609
07/19/12 10:03 PM
07/19/12 10:03 PM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
The HO purchased a kholer gen and a transfer switch from HD. I don't think the neutral will switch.

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206611
07/19/12 11:30 PM
07/19/12 11:30 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,305
Estero,Fl,usa
If you do not switch the neutral, your service bonding jumper is the jumper you use so you want to isolate the neutral at the generator. This is not a separately derived system. You still bond the EGC of the generator to the grounding system at the house.


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206612
07/19/12 11:46 PM
07/19/12 11:46 PM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
I will install a disconnect before the switch. At that disconnect I will isolate the neutral from there. From the switch to the panel I will have them isolated. However, they are not currently isolated in the panel. I will need to separate them in the panel, correct.

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206614
07/20/12 12:19 PM
07/20/12 12:19 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,305
Estero,Fl,usa
If you isolate the neutral in the panel, where is the main bonding jumper?


Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206616
07/20/12 08:33 PM
07/20/12 08:33 PM
W
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
The Kohler switches I have installed have an isolated neutral buss with enough space for a neutral from the disconect, the load, and the genset, making the main bonding jumper in the meter pan the only one, weather you are on utility or generator power.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206617
07/20/12 10:02 PM
07/20/12 10:02 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,305
Estero,Fl,usa
Exactly right Jimmy. The thing is you only have one bonding jumper. It is there in any configuration but only one at a time. If you switch the neutral, the bonding jumper moves with it.

Soares has some great pictures, at least they did have on my ancient copy.



Greg Fretwell
Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206636
07/26/12 07:33 AM
07/26/12 07:33 AM
S
shortcircuit  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 610
massachusetts
If your doing a whole house transfer, Kohler has a Service Entrace rated transfer switch and the neutral bond will be made there. You need to seperate all neutral and grounds at the exisisting main panel because it is now downstream from the main disconnect. (remove the bond screw also)

You will also have to relocate your grounding electrode conductor from the existing panel to the new service entrance rated transfer switch.

shortcircuit

Re: generator install [Re: schenimann] #206644
07/27/12 05:10 PM
07/27/12 05:10 PM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
The HO purchased the package from Lowes that comes with the standard transfer switch and not the service entrace switch. Therefore I will need to put in a 200amp disconnect before the switch. The bond will be made in the disconnect and everything else will be seperated downstream.

I worded it wrong in my previous post. When I said separate my grounds and neutral at the disconnect I meant they would be bonded there and go out separate after that to the switch and panel.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,613 Are you busy
188,748 Re: Forum
178,459 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0108 MB (Peak: 1.1905 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 20:10:51 UTC