ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Thought this was funny
by Ronny - 12/03/20 06:08 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/02/20 02:38 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Relay in a Junction Box #204151 11/16/11 11:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline OP
Member
This is from a mechanical contractor's boiler room. If you're a control electrician, you get to do this kind of stuff.

[Linked Image from i900.photobucket.com]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #204163 11/17/11 03:35 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 98
V
Vindiceptor Offline
Member

LOL!!

I should have known better than to take a drink before clicking the link!

Guy was obviously a hack or he would've cut a CLEAN hole in the cover as opposed to cutting it from the side.......

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #204168 11/17/11 06:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Guess he didn't know about box extension rings.

We did have a thread here about using "device" boxes for relays.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: Vindiceptor] #204211 11/21/11 07:12 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
K
knowledge Offline
New Member
i agree with a clean cut

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #204213 11/21/11 09:16 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline
Member
Are they mixing line voltage with low voltage wires in that 4-11/16 box?

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #204219 11/21/11 12:25 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline OP
Member
The low voltage wires are probably good for 120 volts but the open holes into the box are larger than allowed.

It looks like a lot of work to do something wrong. As Greg points out, there are extension boxes. I think an 8.8.4 box is a cost effective solution.

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #205391 02/17/12 11:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
O
Owain Offline
Member
Originally Posted by twh
This is from a mechanical contractor's boiler room. If you're a control electrician, you get to do this kind of stuff.


If you're a control electrician you'd learn how to do that sort of stuff properly.

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #205837 04/10/12 09:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
O
oasistechnical Offline
New Member
thats scary!

i wouldnt even think of doing that in a million years!!!

poor selection of BASIC equipment, or in other words, `its what i found in the spares bin`

Oasis


we secure, others follow.
Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: twh] #207339 10/17/12 10:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
A
ampman Offline
New Member
Originally Posted by twh
This is from a mechanical contractor's boiler room. If you're a control electrician, you get to do this kind of stuff.

[Linked Image from i900.photobucket.com]
poor excuse for a RIB

Re: Relay in a Junction Box [Re: ampman] #207340 10/17/12 10:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,359
Trumpy Offline
Member
And this is why I like our DIN Rail mounting stuff.
Everything inside the one sealed box, no need to wack holes in everything.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,213 Are you busy
206,102 Re: Forum
194,100 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3