ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
2023 CEU Course
by renosteinke - 07/12/24 03:26 PM
Counterfeit Code Books?
by Comprehensiveedu - 07/12/24 12:16 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 07/11/24 08:51 PM
1&2 family services
by gfretwell - 07/11/24 08:33 PM
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 07/10/24 09:23 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 235 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
511.9
If a conduit does Not pass thur a Classified
area sealing is Not required.
See page 771 Exhibit 511.1.
If a conduit comes from Outside the building goes up to 28inches then enters a box inside a poured concrete wall it never enters the classified area. Thus Seal not required.
Whatca think??
Same as example on page 771 but conduit comes from outside & stays inside the outer wall.
Yoopers

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,387
Likes: 7
Member
IMHO, you are correct, no seal required.


John
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,387
Likes: 7
Member
Done???


John
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,948
Likes: 34
G
Member
It sounded pretty done to me but you probably still need some duct seal to prevent the cold air, condensation thing. That is not a real seal off tho.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Thanks guys it just what I figured ,

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Just got written up by Local Inspector for doing it.
Guess 90.4 comes into play!
Yoopersup

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,948
Likes: 34
G
Member
It all gets down to what is "inside". (which side of the wall is the border).
I can put my "flush mounted jelly jar" hat on and see his point. We call the outside wall the border there and let them use Romex to a dry location octagon box.
He must be saying the conduit is traveling through the classified location, inside the wall.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,387
Likes: 7
Member
I take Yoops job from the OP as the box and conduit being encased in a poured concrete wall. I can't see how that can be 'in' the classified area, also with the dimensions he posted.

On that thought, unprotected service conductors encased in 2" of concrete are 'outside the structure'. Although Yoop did not provide wall thickness dimensions, or a conduit size. it sounds like it could be 2"+ encased in poured concrete.



John
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Right he says even thought its in 2 inches Concrete coming from outside its in classified area. I disagree. \
Conduit comes below ground up Outside poured wall to Panel.
I know this area was revised in 2005 but I didn;t find that deleted??
Yoopersup

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member

[Linked Image]

Last edited by electure; 11/23/11 12:23 AM. Reason: to add image from Photo Gallery
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5