ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Grounding Question #203537 10/07/11 09:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
W
wire_twister Offline OP
Member
Alright fellas, my partner and I were roughing in a new house last week, and I noticed that the rebar sitcking out of the footing for us to bond to was the epoxy coated stuff. Does this coating on the rebar decrease its effectiveness when used as a ufer? I can and did grind the coating off where my clamp is at, but it got me to wondering about the part that is in the concrete. As far as my AHJ, I could bond this rod or not, he just wants to see 2 8 foot rods bonded together and hooked in the meter pan. What do you think?


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203541 10/07/11 11:56 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
You are not allowed to use epoxy-coated rebar to make an electrode.

Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203542 10/07/11 01:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,529
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
That should have failed the footer inspection. That is when the Ufer rough is done here. It is usually done by the structural inspector but he is supposed to know better. Typically what happens here with epoxy rebar is you get a complete 20' stick of bare rebar in the bottom of the pour and another 20' stick bent up into the wall and the remaining 15' or so tied to the 20' in the hole with a bunch of bow ties.
Most of the time the whole footer is uncoated rebar. 2 loops of #5 (continuous).



Greg Fretwell
Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203543 10/07/11 03:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,210
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Same here in NJ, Building Inspector does footing inspection & UFER connection to rebar. I don't think epoxy coated rebar is used for footing/foundations in resi. I see a lot on highway construction, and large structures.



John
Re: Grounding Question [Re: HotLine1] #203553 10/08/11 08:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
theoretically, more bonding to a ufer is better

i often wonder if it's possible to calculate the R value , expoxy or no.......~S~

Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203554 10/09/11 12:12 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline
Member
Iíd say it looks like you donít have much choice now but to use the two 8-foot ground rods anyway. Itís too bad, since all the concrete guy really needed to do was roll out a lousy 20-feet of #4 Cu in the footing before he poured it and just leave a tail for you to connect to and everything would have been fine. Instead the building owner is stuck with the crappy rods and some #6 Cu for a grounding electrode.

Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203555 10/09/11 12:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,529
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
If they haven't back filled the outside walls you might be able to do a ground ring but the price of copper makes that pretty expensive.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203556 10/09/11 01:03 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
My 'OOPS'.

Assumed plastic water pipe. did the 2 rods(builder does not use rebar), then suddenly 650' of 1" copper water pipe shows up!

Meter and panel on the left rear,in the garage, W-main is in the right front.

140' later,it is bonded.

Which leads me to a question:
200A #4 to the grd rods. Do I need #4 to the water main? or is that now a bond and # 6 will do?

(I ran #4 already- Ouch)

Never assume! frown

Re: Grounding Question [Re: wire_twister] #203557 10/09/11 01:08 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,529
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
Actually you have it backward and got lucky. You do need #4 to the pipe and #6 to the rods ... and you need both so you are in compliance. It's Miller Time.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Grounding Question [Re: gfretwell] #203558 10/09/11 01:27 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Actually you have it backward and got lucky. You do need #4 to the pipe and #6 to the rods ... and you need both so you are in compliance. It's Miller Time.



Ha,HA!!

Lucky in a strange way!

I figured #4 for the water main, I know the rods are supplemental.
First time in this town and they require copper water mains.
Live and learn. I knew where the main was coming in but the pipe showed up 2 weeks after the power was on.

AAAARRRgg.

Last edited by leland; 10/09/11 01:29 AM. Reason: (mains)
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
BigB 4
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,047 Are you busy
204,436 Re: Forum
192,645 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3