ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Smoke & mirrors?
by JoeTestingEngr - 09/19/20 10:00 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets #201808 06/25/11 01:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Can anyone tell me what the code is on a old home with 2 wire romex? I was in one today that someone has installed 3 prong outlets in some locations. The inspector thinks it needs rewired to meet code. I can't remember what the proper way to address this situation is.

Also, the bathroom has no outlets at all. Will one need to be installed to meet current code?

Thanks, Merlin.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201810 06/25/11 02:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
You can use GFCIs, add grounds or rewire.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201812 06/25/11 04:17 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
The bathroom needs a 20A GFCI receptacle adjacent to the basin. You probably need the 20a small appliance circuits in the kitchen and the 20a in the laundry too if this is really an old house


Greg Fretwell
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201813 06/25/11 09:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
Just to nit-pic my friend Greg this morning I know he meant to say the bathroom needs a 20a. circuit not a 20a. receptacle. The other option on the "3-prong receptacles" would be he can replace the receptacles with "2-prong receptacles" in some areas based on 406.3(D)(3). Sorry Greg, but I am in a feisty mood today.


George Little
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201822 06/25/11 09:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,209
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Merlin:

What code did the inspector reference??


John
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201824 06/25/11 10:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
George is right, you could just run one new 20a circuit and pick up other loads in the bathroom. I was just thinking about the fastest way to get legal. Usually in a "happy days" era house the bathroom will be on a circuit with whatever was close and not anticipating much load. There might only be a 1-15 in the light over the mirror. That was usually going to be an electric razor, maybe a toothbrush charger but that was an afterthought.
Then they invented the hair dryer wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: gfretwell] #201832 06/26/11 05:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
The Q of grounding becomes even more interesting when considering older nm's undersized grounding conductor, or having it installed via the 'Boston Backwrap' under the clamp of a metal box

Then there is the BX issue

In either case, it could be argued that a false ground is present

just because a meter indicates a grounding conductor doesn't mean it'll clear ground faults....


Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: Merlin] #201833 06/26/11 10:19 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Sparky, The undersized ground is something I never thought about.

How does one approach that? treat it as no ground?
The back wrap I have treated as none present.


Re: 2 wire circuits with 3 wire outlets [Re: leland] #201835 06/26/11 08:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
Originally Posted by leland
Sparky, The undersized ground is something I never thought about.

How does one approach that? treat it as no ground?
The back wrap I have treated as none present.



well having done more renos that there is ascii , or anyone's patience to really ramble on about, i would suggect making the most out of what grounding conductors are present, with consideration to it's efficay


for instance, most backwraps can unwound , and terminated to the box / device / made a solid grounding circuit

it'll still be undersized, so i wouldn't count on it to clear a dead short, but this is where i've many times introduced the mighty (read; slices, dices, makes julian fries) AFCI

iirc, they have a 30ma threshold, not quite the pita a 5ma GFCI breaker would introduce on older cicuitry, but just enough to walk away with some level of confidence

install your two banger receptacles, and let the mice have at it...

~S~




Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,932 Are you busy
204,359 Re: Forum
192,577 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3