ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/02/20 02:38 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Subpanel repairs #201620 06/13/11 05:14 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
I just looked at a house that has 3 subs in nonconforming locations, main hazards are lack of equipment ground cond. and needs gfis on kitchen circuits, multiwire. Question is can I add egc seperate from old 2/3 feeders, Can I replace feeders in existing panels, and install gfi breakers in panels, without having to move/rewire, which might be too costly for HO. I havent found a rehab code in sf bay area, california. Chris

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201626 06/13/11 11:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
let me clarify, house was purchased in 2008, built in the forties? has old fuse box location with replaced panel, Ge or gte 100 amp back fed bkr in cabinet low to ground and recessed more than 6 inches as was the typ. fuse box install of the time. adl. sub added in crawl space more than 3feet but less than 6 feet headroom attached to shear wall above foundation sill plate, dirt floor. at this panel 4 wire feed is tied to nuetral no seperate ground bar, easy fix but, do I inherit bad panel location if I touch it? also adl 4/8 panel with 3 wire feed(old WH) now has two small appl.(6 quad recept.s) and liv. circuits fed with two multiwire cables. that I'd like to combine red and black on two 1 pole gfci bkrs, otherwise I guess I could get 120/240 gfci bkrs to protect them,but am unsure of there reliability as they are new to market. thanks chris

Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201627 06/14/11 12:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
Quote
now has two small appl.(6 quad recept.s) and liv. circuits fed with two multiwire cables. that I'd like to combine red and black on two 1 pole gfci bkrs, otherwise I guess I could get 120/240 gfci bkrs to protect them,but am unsure of there reliability as they are new to market.


You can't put the two sides of a MWBC on single pole breakers. The easiest fix is to use GFCI devices where they split out on the load end.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201628 06/14/11 01:06 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
Yeah its currently on two one pole breakers, in the panel adjacent to the water heater, so I probably have to correct that as well, as it is not handle tied.

Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201632 06/14/11 02:42 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I was really referring to two single pole GFCI breakers but you are right, any MWBC has to be on handle tied breakers these days.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201635 06/14/11 11:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
No I was thinking of putting both red and black wires combined to one gfi bkr, so using the wire as you would to a half hot recept. two wires on same bkr, wire nutted, as is the case now. so I would end up with only one circuit at each quad receptacle box. I was hoping not to have to move all the stuff on the counters and rework the boxes, just wanted to get gfi prot. As I would be the only trade work being done, they have no other plans for redoing thier kitchen.

Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201637 06/14/11 01:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
You would only end up with one small appliance circuit that way if I read you right.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201639 06/14/11 02:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
no there are two, three wire cables leading to kitchen boxes, both reds go to one breaker via wirenut, as does black wires, so I would be making cables only carry 120 vs 240, but that might leave a path open for someone after to separate and put loads on twin breaker? hmmmmm

Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201640 06/14/11 03:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
crselectric Offline OP
Member
Otherwise I understand to do it right i would have to rewire or cut out the offending red or black wire at the boxes.

Re: Subpanel repairs [Re: crselectric] #201642 06/14/11 04:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
You can keep the multi wire circuits to the kitchen. Just split them out in the 4x4 boxes with GFCI receptacles.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,206 Are you busy
206,091 Re: Forum
194,097 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3