ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 06:05 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ungrounded outlets #200818 04/20/11 08:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
I got called to a house today to make some repairs that the buyer's inspector sited. Most issues were minor and resolved, except one. I have two rooms that were added on a few years after the house was built. These two rooms are the problem area. Nearly all of the outlets have no ground. I found that most of the grounds were either twisted together in box or cut off short. None were hooked up. Well, I was able to resolve all but three.

Now here is my issue. What is the code regarding this issue? Is there any way around getting extremely in depth with this? Can I install gfi's in these locations or what is recommended? Two of them have grounds hooked up now but still unable to aquire a ground continuity back to panel. The third, has the ground wires cut back so short that I cant get to them. Thanks for your input.

I HATE HACK JOBS!!!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200819 04/20/11 10:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,234
HotLine1 Offline
Member
406.4 (D)(2)allows GFI devices to be installed where no EGC is available within the device box.




John
Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200832 04/21/11 01:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
If you can get the ground wire under a screw in the back of the box it gets you started. Then a self grounding receptacle will work.
Did they, at least. get them all twisted together to continue the ground from box to box?

If you can get a 1/2" or so, you can also use one of those push on connectors we have been talking about. Then you can pigtail on as much wire as you need to tag the box and get to your devices.


Greg Fretwell
Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200847 04/22/11 09:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Niko Offline
Member
I would recommend a rewire of that room. Remember if you are the last to touch that installation then you are liable.

I am always careful with these hack jobs.



Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200858 04/22/11 09:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,234
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Nico:
I have to agree with you on a rewire being the ultimate solution. However, I believe Merlin is seeking ideas for compliant solutions other than a rewire.

Hopefully Merlin will follow-up on the suggestions made herein.



John
Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200865 04/23/11 10:11 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Thanks for all of the great input. I am going back to attempt to get the remaining three fixed. If not, I will have to install the gfi's. A rewire is not really an option, due to this is the sellers responsibilty. They are not willing to go that route if any other option is available. ALthough I would love to because this is a D.I.Y. special. Whoever wired it, had no clue what they were doing.

The sad part about this issue is that it was an issue when the current owner bought the house. They were told that another electrician fixed the problem. Sadly, I know he never attempted based on what I am finding. I know the guy and would of never thought he would do that. I guess that is why I now serve some of his previous customers.

Thanks again!

Re: ungrounded outlets [Re: Merlin] #200882 04/25/11 08:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline
Member
Around here there was a period of time, around the 60's where they EC's would take the grounding wire and run it outside the box, wrap them all together and install them under a bolt and nut through the bottom hole in the metal box. That might be all well and good, but when you went to loosed the nut on the inside of the box, you could not re-tighten it. You were left with a loose grounding connection and no way to fix it without removing the box.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,603 Are you busy
209,527 Re: Forum
196,890 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3