ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 34 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#197187 11/14/10 07:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Providing a CT has the amperage output, can a single CT provide accurate signalling to two or more meters requiring a CT?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
sparkyinak #197202 11/14/10 05:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
Member
I will take a wild guess, but if the two meters are physically close AND you connect the two meter's CT inputs in SERIES, I think yes.

Acceptable practice, I do not know.

LarryC #197207 11/14/10 08:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,288
Likes: 4
Member
Another wild guess of 'yes'. Pondering a little deeper, I would venture a guess that as long as the 'meter' device doesn't exceed the power (correct term?) output of the CT, multiple 'meters' could be attached.


John
HotLine1 #197215 11/14/10 11:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
It makes sense to me, but would degrade the accuracy is what I'm concern.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
sparkyinak #197216 11/15/10 12:20 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
My guess is the manufacturer will not guarantee the accuracy if it is not installed exactly the way they say.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #197225 11/15/10 09:07 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
CTs have a rated maximum current output and a maximum circuit resistance. As long as the load of the multiple meters is below the maximum permitted load, there will be no issues with the operation or accuracy.
http://www.nktechnologies.com/pdfs/ct-tutorial.pdf


Don(resqcapt19)
resqcapt19 #197234 11/15/10 01:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
In the days of electromechanical meters it was standard practice to provide a single set of CT's to feed both the Ammeter and the Wattmeter. Even in today's world of electronic meters it is still common.

However, it is rare that a protective device and a meter will share a single set of CT's (although it seems common in MV starter applications).


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Humble, TX
Posts: 440
Joined: December 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 3
grich 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,015 Are you busy
220,142 Re: Forum
206,139 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5