ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (gfretwell, Scott35), 41 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#196906 11/01/10 01:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
Has anyone seen those brand new water heaters that are instantaneous and they need 3-40 amp feeds? What do you do about a disconnect within 50' and/or within eyesight?

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 764
K
Member
I suppose they could pull a properly sized feeder and install a small subpanel to an area within sight of the equipment, then run the needed branch circuits to the water heater from there.
One thing though… I know that the SQD QO 6/12 circuit panels I have are only rated at 100A, so not sure if they are available with a higher ampere rating.
If not, then one possible problem might be if the feeder were sized only as needed for the water heater loads but, a larger panel was install installed because of the needed higher ampere rating. Someone else could come along later and run additional circuits out of it to feed other loads.

KJay #196915 11/01/10 06:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
Member
I'm working on the same thing, in richmond ca, trying to find a small robust panel on opposite side of wall in 1100 sq. ft house, and not have to put in a 20 space panel for 6 slots?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,928
Likes: 34
G
Member
I saw some 6/12s on the SqD site but they are more expensive than a 20/40.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,381
Likes: 7
Member
The OCP for the subpanel will prevent the feeder from OL. I seem to remember a GE panel that was 125 amp rated buss.



John
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
How about a contactor in a small panel with a push button/switch by the heater?

How about a lock out on the service panel?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,928
Likes: 34
G
Member
If you have a sub panel within sight of the water heater that can be your disconnect.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Member
Is that 3 separate heaters turning ON separate times, or all three turn ON at the same time?

I bet that will dim the lights every time it turns ON. Wouldn't that be annoying? Have you informed the customer on the possibility of the lights dimming?


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Niko #196969 11/03/10 09:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
Greg,

I agree that if there is a sub panel or service panel within 50/eyesight, then we would meet the code. However the service is in the basement and the house is finished, and they install a new water heater in the laundry room, Now what? Could you accept a lockable breaker(s) for the disconnect? Install a sign on water heater stating that the heater has multiple feeds?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,928
Likes: 34
G
Member
This might be the compelling reason to put the sub panel near the water heater.
I know the code allows lockable breakers, how many homeowners actually understand LOTO procedures or have the proper equipment?


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5