ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,971 Are you busy
175,564 Re: Forum
167,810 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 59 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#196906 - 11/01/10 01:26 PM Re: New water heater  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Has anyone seen those brand new water heaters that are instantaneous and they need 3-40 amp feeds? What do you do about a disconnect within 50' and/or within eyesight?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#196909 - 11/01/10 03:04 PM Re: New water heater [Re: harold endean]  
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
I suppose they could pull a properly sized feeder and install a small subpanel to an area within sight of the equipment, then run the needed branch circuits to the water heater from there.
One thing though… I know that the SQD QO 6/12 circuit panels I have are only rated at 100A, so not sure if they are available with a higher ampere rating.
If not, then one possible problem might be if the feeder were sized only as needed for the water heater loads but, a larger panel was install installed because of the needed higher ampere rating. Someone else could come along later and run additional circuits out of it to feed other loads.


#196915 - 11/01/10 06:24 PM Re: New water heater [Re: KJay]  
crselectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 133
albany, ca
I'm working on the same thing, in richmond ca, trying to find a small robust panel on opposite side of wall in 1100 sq. ft house, and not have to put in a 20 space panel for 6 slots?


#196916 - 11/01/10 07:01 PM Re: New water heater [Re: crselectric]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
I saw some 6/12s on the SqD site but they are more expensive than a 20/40.


Greg Fretwell

#196925 - 11/01/10 08:56 PM Re: New water heater [Re: gfretwell]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,858
Brick, NJ USA
The OCP for the subpanel will prevent the feeder from OL. I seem to remember a GE panel that was 125 amp rated buss.



John

#196948 - 11/02/10 11:33 AM Re: New water heater [Re: HotLine1]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
How about a contactor in a small panel with a push button/switch by the heater?

How about a lock out on the service panel?


#196954 - 11/02/10 01:57 PM Re: New water heater [Re: harold endean]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
If you have a sub panel within sight of the water heater that can be your disconnect.


Greg Fretwell

#196965 - 11/03/10 12:26 AM Re: New water heater [Re: gfretwell]  
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
Is that 3 separate heaters turning ON separate times, or all three turn ON at the same time?

I bet that will dim the lights every time it turns ON. Wouldn't that be annoying? Have you informed the customer on the possibility of the lights dimming?


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live


#196969 - 11/03/10 09:35 AM Re: New water heater [Re: Niko]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Greg,

I agree that if there is a sub panel or service panel within 50/eyesight, then we would meet the code. However the service is in the basement and the house is finished, and they install a new water heater in the laundry room, Now what? Could you accept a lockable breaker(s) for the disconnect? Install a sign on water heater stating that the heater has multiple feeds?


#196972 - 11/03/10 02:44 PM Re: New water heater [Re: harold endean]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
This might be the compelling reason to put the sub panel near the water heater.
I know the code allows lockable breakers, how many homeowners actually understand LOTO procedures or have the proper equipment?


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8199 MB (Peak: 1.0006 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-20 06:05:00 UTC