ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
EMC Glands on Motors
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 06:12 AM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 05:54 AM
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
Colt Firearms Switchbox
by NORCAL - 11/29/22 01:04 AM
Perfect work light?
by gfretwell - 11/22/22 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 31 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#196822 10/28/10 09:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
S
swoop Offline OP
New Member
In my opinion home depot and lowes should not be allowed to sell main panel and sub panels and for that matter breakers to anyone who does not have a license, period!!!

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
In BC a Home owner can replace their own breakers without a permit.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
Rules seldom have the effect you want. It might be better to have homeowners buying new from a retail outlet than used from a buddy.

Anyway, what happened?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,770
Likes: 14
G
Member
In these "internet" days, bans like that are unenforceable anyway.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
S
swoop Offline OP
New Member
well a friend called me about his dryer, it had no heat so i went over and found out that his buddy had put a new panel in for him.after a couple of hours of straightening out everything i looked at the dryer problem.he He had the double breaker on the same phase.I mostly use cutler hammer or square D but this one was a fpe. Cutler hammer stagger their phases and so does square D but FPE doesnt they group them in twos.So never start with a double on FPE.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,323
Likes: 7
Member
Swoop:

What? You guys up in Canada have NEW FPE panels??


John
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
C
Member
maybe their just selling off old stock, but I would have sent them all back, I hear the new breakers are ok though

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
Originally Posted by HotLine1
Swoop:

What? You guys up in Canada have NEW FPE panels??


yup

http://www.schneider-electric.ca/ca...mp;p_family_id=15207&p_range_id=7254

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Yikes! Looks as if they just changed the color of the breakers. It wasn't the "stab" part that caused FPE breakers to be so dangerous. It was the fact that they wouldn't trip!

I seem to recall that their skinny two-pole breakers couldn't occupy a space on the same leg. It has been a while since I've encountered an FPE panel around here so I can't speak with certainty.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
S
swoop Offline OP
New Member
Yes we are allowed to put them in our igloo's

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,432
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
NORCAL 5
Popular Topics(Views)
300,455 Are you busy
230,132 Re: Forum
214,948 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5