ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Kichler Lighting Recalls Pendant Lights
by Admin - 09/18/19 08:47 PM
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:14 AM
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by Bill Addiss - 09/17/19 07:13 PM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Admin, gfretwell), 11 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Network Printer #194203 05/15/10 02:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
JValdes Offline OP
Member
I have a laptop and I have a desktop PC with a new printer connected via USB. The old printer (HP) could be accessed from the network. My wife was printing from any room in the house with the HP connected to my PC. I purchased a USB Kodak ESP 3250 and now she cannot print. I cannot get it to print via Ethernet cable either. She can only print using a direct connection like I am using at the desktop. (USB).

I have worked on this for two days and was in the registry last night following MS instructions for my error codes.
oxooooo57.
oxoooooood.

Any ideas or help. I plan to take the printer back and get a wireless printer. Would that be a good idea or should I make this work like the HP did? After all the old printer did just fine.

Thanks John

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Network Printer [Re: JValdes] #194208 05/15/10 05:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
WESTUPLACE Offline
Member
When you set up the printer on ethernet, first set a fix ip address in the range of your computers, also be sure your network has a workgroup name and that is also entered in the printers network software. Robert

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194212 05/16/10 12:28 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Can't you just share the printer over your network?

Re: Network Printer [Re: noderaser] #194219 05/16/10 12:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
JValdes Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by noderaser
Can't you just share the printer over your network?


That is what I was doing before and expected to do with this new printer. I had to do nothing special before, just set printer sharing on the desktop where the printer is connected by USB. That was it. Her printer would print to my connected printer and show John-PC "Printer Name". As the default printer on her lap top.

I am going to reconnect the HP, just to see.

Her PC cannot find my Pc or my printer with the new Kodak printer. The printer works fine with each PC if they are USB connected.

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194220 05/16/10 12:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
JValdes Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by WESTUPLACE
When you set up the printer on ethernet, first set a fix ip address in the range of your computers, also be sure your network has a workgroup name and that is also entered in the printers network software. Robert


I never had to set up the laptop/printer with an ethernet cable. All I did was set my desktop to share printers in network sharing center and she was able to print through the router and my PC. I was so simple the first time I did this. This problem is new and only started when I bought this new printer. It's an all in one deal, print, scan, copy. It works fine connected with USB.

Last edited by JValdes; 05/16/10 12:19 PM.
Re: Network Printer [Re: JValdes] #194222 05/16/10 01:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I have had LAN problems I couldn't fix and made them go away by going into control panel/system/hardware/device manager/network (right click on the card) and uninstalling the adapter. Then reboot and let it reinstall. That refreshes all of the drivers, software adapters and DHCP connections. Things that were broke, start working again after a second reboot.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Network Printer [Re: gfretwell] #194223 05/16/10 03:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
WESTUPLACE Offline
Member
All-in ones are a different story. They are bi-directional printers. If they have a print server built in, most will do all, ( print,scan, etc) by way of the network from any computer. You MUST install the drivers on all the computers. Most will not pass them between computers. Many also have to talk (thru the network )to one computer. You direct all other computers to talk to that computer to print. You did not say what OS is on your computers. Printing from a XP computer to a W7 machine can bring other issues in to play. Most all in one will print from other computers but some will not scan to another computer. Robert

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194224 05/16/10 03:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
He should have been prompted for that when he added the network printer to the other machines. If he never added the new printer and tried to print to the old, non-existent printer it certainly would not work.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Network Printer [Re: gfretwell] #194230 05/17/10 02:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
What model of printer are we talking about, and what OSes are installed on the respective computers?

Sounds like the issue is that the laptop is not finding your desktop. Make sure that you are using the same workgroup name.

Re: Network Printer [Re: noderaser] #194286 05/21/10 01:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
JValdes Offline OP
Member
Sorry for not getting back to the thread until today. The issue is corrected but not resolved. I got pissed off and took the printer back. While at the store I went with the Kodak 5250 instead as it had USB and WIFI. While setting it up it does tell you to load the drivers (set up cd) into each machine on the network.
When I loaded the software onto the wife's laptop, it asked for the connection type and all I had to do was set it for wireless. The router then found the printer and all is well except I am printing wireless and did not really solve the real issue. Before I was printing to the network, now I am printing directly to the printer. It could very well been not paying attention when installing the first printer.

Thanks for the all the help............John

Last edited by JValdes; 05/21/10 01:28 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,923
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 6
Popular Topics(Views)
258,626 Are you busy
194,220 Re: Forum
183,690 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3