ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/20/18 11:16 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 07:00 PM
Light Pole Grounding
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 05:34 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Network Printer #194203
05/15/10 02:17 PM
05/15/10 02:17 PM
J
JValdes  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
I have a laptop and I have a desktop PC with a new printer connected via USB. The old printer (HP) could be accessed from the network. My wife was printing from any room in the house with the HP connected to my PC. I purchased a USB Kodak ESP 3250 and now she cannot print. I cannot get it to print via Ethernet cable either. She can only print using a direct connection like I am using at the desktop. (USB).

I have worked on this for two days and was in the registry last night following MS instructions for my error codes.
oxooooo57.
oxoooooood.

Any ideas or help. I plan to take the printer back and get a wireless printer. Would that be a good idea or should I make this work like the HP did? After all the old printer did just fine.

Thanks John

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Network Printer [Re: JValdes] #194208
05/15/10 05:10 PM
05/15/10 05:10 PM
W
WESTUPLACE  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Kingwood, TX USA
When you set up the printer on ethernet, first set a fix ip address in the range of your computers, also be sure your network has a workgroup name and that is also entered in the printers network software. Robert

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194212
05/16/10 12:28 AM
05/16/10 12:28 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Can't you just share the printer over your network?

Re: Network Printer [Re: noderaser] #194219
05/16/10 12:14 PM
05/16/10 12:14 PM
J
JValdes  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Originally Posted by noderaser
Can't you just share the printer over your network?


That is what I was doing before and expected to do with this new printer. I had to do nothing special before, just set printer sharing on the desktop where the printer is connected by USB. That was it. Her printer would print to my connected printer and show John-PC "Printer Name". As the default printer on her lap top.

I am going to reconnect the HP, just to see.

Her PC cannot find my Pc or my printer with the new Kodak printer. The printer works fine with each PC if they are USB connected.

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194220
05/16/10 12:18 PM
05/16/10 12:18 PM
J
JValdes  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Originally Posted by WESTUPLACE
When you set up the printer on ethernet, first set a fix ip address in the range of your computers, also be sure your network has a workgroup name and that is also entered in the printers network software. Robert


I never had to set up the laptop/printer with an ethernet cable. All I did was set my desktop to share printers in network sharing center and she was able to print through the router and my PC. I was so simple the first time I did this. This problem is new and only started when I bought this new printer. It's an all in one deal, print, scan, copy. It works fine connected with USB.

Last edited by JValdes; 05/16/10 12:19 PM.
Re: Network Printer [Re: JValdes] #194222
05/16/10 01:41 PM
05/16/10 01:41 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
I have had LAN problems I couldn't fix and made them go away by going into control panel/system/hardware/device manager/network (right click on the card) and uninstalling the adapter. Then reboot and let it reinstall. That refreshes all of the drivers, software adapters and DHCP connections. Things that were broke, start working again after a second reboot.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Network Printer [Re: gfretwell] #194223
05/16/10 03:14 PM
05/16/10 03:14 PM
W
WESTUPLACE  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Kingwood, TX USA
All-in ones are a different story. They are bi-directional printers. If they have a print server built in, most will do all, ( print,scan, etc) by way of the network from any computer. You MUST install the drivers on all the computers. Most will not pass them between computers. Many also have to talk (thru the network )to one computer. You direct all other computers to talk to that computer to print. You did not say what OS is on your computers. Printing from a XP computer to a W7 machine can bring other issues in to play. Most all in one will print from other computers but some will not scan to another computer. Robert

Re: Network Printer [Re: WESTUPLACE] #194224
05/16/10 03:45 PM
05/16/10 03:45 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
He should have been prompted for that when he added the network printer to the other machines. If he never added the new printer and tried to print to the old, non-existent printer it certainly would not work.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Network Printer [Re: gfretwell] #194230
05/17/10 02:11 AM
05/17/10 02:11 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
What model of printer are we talking about, and what OSes are installed on the respective computers?

Sounds like the issue is that the laptop is not finding your desktop. Make sure that you are using the same workgroup name.

Re: Network Printer [Re: noderaser] #194286
05/21/10 01:24 PM
05/21/10 01:24 PM
J
JValdes  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Sorry for not getting back to the thread until today. The issue is corrected but not resolved. I got pissed off and took the printer back. While at the store I went with the Kodak 5250 instead as it had USB and WIFI. While setting it up it does tell you to load the drivers (set up cd) into each machine on the network.
When I loaded the software onto the wife's laptop, it asked for the connection type and all I had to do was set it for wireless. The router then found the printer and all is well except I am printing wireless and did not really solve the real issue. Before I was printing to the network, now I am printing directly to the printer. It could very well been not paying attention when installing the first printer.

Thanks for the all the help............John

Last edited by JValdes; 05/21/10 01:28 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,665 Are you busy
186,401 Re: Forum
175,888 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 16 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0267 MB (Peak: 1.2078 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-21 06:04:02 UTC