ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Intersystem grounding block #192874 03/08/10 01:07 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline OP
Member
OK, we all know that the EC has to install that new intersystem ground block as per 250.94. Here comes the question,

Is the EC required to run a grounding conductor from this ground block to the Telco /CATV equipment? Or is the EC just required to install that ground block and then have the Telco/CATV people come back to install their own grounding conductor?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: harold endean] #192878 03/08/10 02:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I think the Telco/Cable/Satt contractor should be running their own ground to your block. (it was the ground rod(s) back in the olden days)
In most cases with cable, their box is sealed anyway. In my experience they are not very diligent when it comes to grounding so somebody does need to follow up and inspect this. Hopefully it has been done before the final electrical inspection but that may not happen. I used to warn homeowners of the problem and have them hold the installer's feet to the fire when they get their cable or phone installed. I offered to get in the middle if it came to it but I am guessing my card with a short note on the back was all it took because I never got a call back.
My experience with lightning damage in the computer biz made me a fanatic about good grounding practices.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: gfretwell] #192881 03/08/10 07:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Harold:
Now, another can of worms?

Service upgrades, the EC's have for the most part connected the existing to the block. New resi work has been real quiet, so I can't voice anything yet.

Again, it would be nice if a FTO popped up for this, so we are all on the same page.



John
Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: HotLine1] #192915 03/10/10 09:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline OP
Member
John,

An EC who is a friend of mine said he failed a job because of that reason. So now he asks,"Is it my responsibility to connect the Telco grounding conductor? If so what code section does that fall under?"

Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: harold endean] #192930 03/10/10 08:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Harold:
IMHO, IF the telco, etc. was bonded prior to a service upgrade I would say the EC should re-connect the bond. I'll look for an article ASAP, as I have had no debates re: this.

That said, on a new job, the telco, etc. installers are responsible. (period)
Who checks them?? I can't say I do! More research required.

Reminds me of the pipe clamp on the PVC service conduit by a 'cable guy'!



John
Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: HotLine1] #192945 03/11/10 09:39 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline
Member
If it is an existing building and the telco or CATV are already properly grounded and bonded, then 250.94 exception doesn't require the intersystem bonding termination to be installed, however you can install one at the service for other additional buildings if needed.
It's a rare event that it's done correctly with the current requirements for size, length and connection location, etc, especially in older buildings, but sometimes you do see it.
I guess they figure that if these systems are already properly bonded, then leave well enough alone.

I've noticed that around here, all of the telco ground wires have yellow tags on them at the point of connection that say "Warning, if this clamp or wire is loose or removed contact the telephone company repair service."
This seems to indicate that they want ultimate responsibility of the grounding and bonding for their systems.

Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: KJay] #192965 03/12/10 09:23 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline OP
Member
KJay,


I agree that if the Telco system was bonded when the EC gets there, then after a service change, the EC should re hook up the Telco/CATV grounding conductor.

The question comes from the fact that the Telco equipment was on one side of the house (And on it's own separate grounding system) and the service replacement is on the other side of the house. Should the EC fail the inspection because the TELCO guy didn't ground his system from the very start of the building project?

I started out in this trade as a Burg/Fire alarm installer. We always had to ground our systems to the nearest cold water pipe. If it wasn't grounded properly,our system wouldn't work correctly.

Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: harold endean] #192990 03/13/10 08:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline
Member
IMO, no since 250.94 only requires the means of intersystem bonding termination be installed near the service equipment or grounding electrode conductor for the purpose of intersystem bonding, not that the systems actually be connected to it.
Because each service provider has their own internal standards for grounding and bonding of their systems and equipment, which may differ substantially from the minimum requirements of the NEC, if the EC changes or alters it and doesn’t do it to the provider companies standard, he may be liable in the event of damage to the system or equipment and possibly even the building.
I feel that the service providers should be notified by the property owner and/or the EC that the grounding and bonding for their systems may need to be updated after a service change is completed.

Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: KJay] #192993 03/13/10 11:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Kjay:
We may be talking about two or more different scenarios here. For a new structure, no the EC is not responsible to do the bonding, only to install the 250.94 block.

On service changes reconnecting the LV bonding to the upgraded grounding and bonding system, for any existing data/comm/sat etc. This has been a 'standard' practice for the most part by the EC's. IMHO, the liability issue would be greater if the bonds were not re-connected after a service change.



John
Re: Intersystem grounding block [Re: HotLine1] #193011 03/15/10 06:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
just an aside, the last code update i took had one state inspector flogging the troops, errhm....eductaing us to the only grounding block on the market being via only ONE manufacturer.

so.....does that mean they are listed (or maybe i should say warranteed?) to be installed on all meters?

~S~


Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,680 Are you busy
209,602 Re: Forum
196,952 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3