ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by gfretwell. 11/18/18 12:25 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
rework boxes for thick walls? #192298
02/06/10 02:18 AM
02/06/10 02:18 AM
B
bigpapa  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
canada
Anybody know of a rework box that works well with walls that are 1-1/2 in thick or more?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa] #192306
02/06/10 12:09 PM
02/06/10 12:09 PM
D
davemica  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
florida
What about just a deep metal box with plaster ears like a 3x2x 3-1/2" deep and either using holdits (battleships) or screws through the ears into the wall?

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: davemica] #192307
02/06/10 12:34 PM
02/06/10 12:34 PM
L
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Double sheet rock- i cut top and bottom off of the 'mad bars'(battle ship) bend the tabs out and tap in between the 2 layers. Works great.

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: leland] #192309
02/06/10 01:44 PM
02/06/10 01:44 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
Do they still make the 'extra long' madison bars??


John
Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: HotLine1] #192310
02/06/10 02:17 PM
02/06/10 02:17 PM
R
Rewire  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
Missouri

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: Rewire] #192311
02/06/10 02:48 PM
02/06/10 02:48 PM
B
bigpapa  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
canada
thanks
I will see of I can find some longer Madison bars somewhere.
I know my regular suppliers don't have them.

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa] #192313
02/06/10 07:15 PM
02/06/10 07:15 PM
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Steel City 820-D good for 2 3/4 '' thats all I use. Just cut them down. This way I only stock 1 size in truck. I would use 3 1/2" metal old work box, with the clamps in it. depends on M/C or Rx. If it is double rock it may be fire rated?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,586 Are you busy
188,736 Re: Forum
178,445 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9845 MB (Peak: 1.1426 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 03:02:58 UTC