ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/17/17 09:50 AM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,343 Are you busy
177,294 Re: Forum
168,924 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 68 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#192298 - 02/06/10 03:18 AM rework boxes for thick walls?  
bigpapa  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
canada
Anybody know of a rework box that works well with walls that are 1-1/2 in thick or more?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#192306 - 02/06/10 01:09 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa]  
davemica  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
florida
What about just a deep metal box with plaster ears like a 3x2x 3-1/2" deep and either using holdits (battleships) or screws through the ears into the wall?


#192307 - 02/06/10 01:34 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: davemica]  
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Double sheet rock- i cut top and bottom off of the 'mad bars'(battle ship) bend the tabs out and tap in between the 2 layers. Works great.


#192309 - 02/06/10 02:44 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: leland]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
Do they still make the 'extra long' madison bars??


John

#192310 - 02/06/10 03:17 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: HotLine1]  
Rewire  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
Missouri


#192311 - 02/06/10 03:48 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: Rewire]  
bigpapa  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
canada
thanks
I will see of I can find some longer Madison bars somewhere.
I know my regular suppliers don't have them.


#192313 - 02/06/10 08:15 PM Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa]  
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Steel City 820-D good for 2 3/4 '' thats all I use. Just cut them down. This way I only stock 1 size in truck. I would use 3 1/2" metal old work box, with the clamps in it. depends on M/C or Rx. If it is double rock it may be fire rated?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.


Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7845 MB (Peak: 0.9400 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-17 20:46:01 UTC