ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:45 AM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
Another NEC 2017 Question_240/24VAC Txfr-Neutral R
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:22 AM
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by pcsailor - 09/15/19 07:58 PM
Service Question
by HotLine1 - 09/14/19 01:43 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 9 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
rework boxes for thick walls? #192298 02/06/10 03:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
B
bigpapa Offline OP
Member
Anybody know of a rework box that works well with walls that are 1-1/2 in thick or more?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa] #192306 02/06/10 01:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
D
davemica Offline
Member
What about just a deep metal box with plaster ears like a 3x2x 3-1/2" deep and either using holdits (battleships) or screws through the ears into the wall?

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: davemica] #192307 02/06/10 01:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Double sheet rock- i cut top and bottom off of the 'mad bars'(battle ship) bend the tabs out and tap in between the 2 layers. Works great.

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: leland] #192309 02/06/10 02:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Do they still make the 'extra long' madison bars??


John
Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: HotLine1] #192310 02/06/10 03:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Rewire Offline
Member

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: Rewire] #192311 02/06/10 03:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 81
B
bigpapa Offline OP
Member
thanks
I will see of I can find some longer Madison bars somewhere.
I know my regular suppliers don't have them.

Re: rework boxes for thick walls? [Re: bigpapa] #192313 02/06/10 08:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Obsaleet Offline
Member
Steel City 820-D good for 2 3/4 '' thats all I use. Just cut them down. This way I only stock 1 size in truck. I would use 3 1/2" metal old work box, with the clamps in it. depends on M/C or Rx. If it is double rock it may be fire rated?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 11
Popular Topics(Views)
258,578 Are you busy
194,173 Re: Forum
183,648 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3