ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
High Voltage on the Ground #192266
02/03/10 11:45 PM
02/03/10 11:45 PM
electure  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA


Submitted by: Harold Endean


Quote

The power company here had an underground service go bad, so they temporarily ran wires to the factory.
Now that wouldn't be so bad, but these are primary wires, 3 lines and they are running on the ground alongside of a road.
They also cross the road twice. You can see where the wire runs down from the pole, across the road, along the road, over a fence, cross another driveway.
I believe each wire is about 7KV and there are 3 lines.

Pretty scary ain't it!


Harold





[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
High Voltage on the Ground [Re: electure] #192267
02/03/10 11:50 PM
02/03/10 11:50 PM
electure  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]

Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: electure] #192272
02/04/10 11:36 AM
02/04/10 11:36 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Chicago Illinois USA
I especially like the way that they hop the fence.
I sure hope that they told the lawn service not to mow that day.


Ghost307
Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: ghost307] #192276
02/04/10 08:50 PM
02/04/10 08:50 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,986
Brick, NJ USA
Harold:
Thanks for the pics!

If you want to add any comments....please do.

Which POCO? "FE" on the cone don't say much to me. I've never seen a 'temp' like that anywhere.



John
Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: HotLine1] #192277
02/04/10 10:22 PM
02/04/10 10:22 PM
JoeKP  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
Berkley, MA
that's just horrible, id like to see the plows come through with the snow...


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: JoeKP] #192278
02/05/10 12:21 AM
02/05/10 12:21 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Even though the insulation is pretty tough, it looks like a liability nightmare. What did the temp feed, that was so important to get power in right away? Big $$$ customer, or life & safety?

Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: noderaser] #192296
02/06/10 01:00 AM
02/06/10 01:00 AM
B
BigJohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 391
Boston, MA
That's pretty ridiculous.

Even when out transmission utility has open lines like that inside fenced substations they still mark and guard the heck out of them. What would've been wrong with stringing the length of that with "danger" signs of some sort? Warning ribbon isn't that expensive.

I especially like the totally unprotected lines in the road between the cones and the cover plate. That stuff is tough, but trucks are awfully heavy....

-John

Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: BigJohn] #192297
02/06/10 02:35 AM
02/06/10 02:35 AM
F
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
I do recall seeing that type of cable and I did used on 14 KV system without issue however laying top of the ground now that is tempting for trouble especaly if this cable is non conrated netural cable { most will have copper or steel wire warp around the cable }

But once hevey truck hit it it don't take much to get it have heckva a big flashover .,,, crazy

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: frenchelectrican] #192312
02/06/10 04:00 PM
02/06/10 04:00 PM
M
mbhydro  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 350
Winnipeg MB Canada
I have seen this once when the telco lost the u/g to the exchange that served my part of the city due to a water main break.

The temp feed was covered for two days with planking and barricades / warning tape for the couple hundred feet from the drop pole to the transformer.

This was over a city sidewalk and lawn so truck damage was not an issue.

Re: High Voltage on the Ground [Re: mbhydro] #192315
02/06/10 08:55 PM
02/06/10 08:55 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,236
SI,New Zealand
Man,
That is just slack IMO.
I can't help but feel, that some sort of temporary poles could have been sunk for this circuit, to get it up out of the way.
I mean, that is what electricity utilities do as their bread and butter isn't it?
I just shook my head when I saw them wires laid over the top of that fence, it would have taken a few seconds to run them singles UNDER the fence.
It's like someone just doesn't care. bash

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 95
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,170 Are you busy
185,643 Re: Forum
175,019 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0301 MB (Peak: 1.2130 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-23 11:29:57 UTC