ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
CDS #191629 01/05/10 06:50 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 15
M
Member
Thanks for the info, the power co is coming back to look at the pole connections.
Forgive me what is a logger I have never heard that term.
Mike


dukes
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
CDS Offline
Member
Maybe not the correct term , you hook it to the lines for say 24 hours and it gives you a line graph of the voltage over time .

CDS #191633 01/05/10 07:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
The Dranitz I have uses a set point for spikes and sags, logging anything that exceeds that point.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
If this is a regular occurrence, you might do as well with a simple analog meter. It is really hard to do much with a digital meter unless it will save the low point. Even then you don't know if that was just a spike or a real sag. The analog meter is far more visual.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,432
Likes: 3
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
If this is a regular occurrence, you might do as well with a simple analog meter. It is really hard to do much with a digital meter unless it will save the low point. Even then you don't know if that was just a spike or a real sag. The analog meter is far more visual.

I agree Greg,
I have an elderly analouge meter here that has the facility to set the needle at centre scale and it has +/- values printed on the scale. wink
In some cases, I actually prefer the analogue meter to a digital one, especially if the readings are all over the place or changing to any great degree.

Having said all that I also own a data logger, it's handy to be able to leave the thing behind (behind the panel dead-front, of course) and go and get it say two days later and see what it has recorded.
It's told me a few interesting stories to date.

Trumpy #191637 01/05/10 08:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
When I first got my Dranitz I set it up at what I thought was a reasonable level in my office on Friday and came back the next Monday to see how I was doing. It had run out of paper.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,432
Likes: 3
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
When I first got my Dranitz I set it up at what I thought was a reasonable level in my office on Friday and came back the next Monday to see how I was doing. It had run out of paper.


Blast!!, you would say. grin

Trumpy #191639 01/05/10 08:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
Greg said...
"It had run out of paper"

That's one of the reasons I bought a digital Amprobe Digimatic
I had the analog Amprobe chart recorders also, and remembering to have someone replace the chart roll was a pain.

Dranetz was a tool the computer guys used to love!



John
wa2ise #191664 01/06/10 06:58 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 15
M
Member
Hi all
Power co came, said they checked all connections at trans. pole. Customer still has blinking lights. My digitial meter only shows slight changes in voltage less than 2%.
I can not isolate the problem, shut breakers feeding anything with a motor or compressor and it still blinks.
The lights only dime intermittenly.


dukes
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,432
Likes: 3
Member
I think this is definitely a local problem and not part of the PoCo network.
What really needs to be ascertained, is how the lights are wired in that place.
If them lighting circuits are all sharing a common feed, I would suspect a dodgy neutral (or phase) connection somewhere in the installation.
More than likely on one of the lighting circuit home-runs.
An ohm-meter and a long piece of wire would help speed the fault-finding process up.

Mike, you never mentioned if the receptacle circuits were affected by this intermittent voltage sag problem.
Were these checked at the same time?, as that would also give you some sort of indication as to where the fault could be.

Hope this is of some help.

Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 5
Popular Topics(Views)
302,739 Are you busy
231,972 Re: Forum
216,688 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5