ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by andey - 10/14/19 10:14 AM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by gfretwell - 10/12/19 01:17 PM
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by HotLine1 - 10/10/19 07:35 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: cutting data lines [Re: brianl703] #186828 05/29/09 11:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,408
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Maybe the world has changed but when I learned this stuff in the 90s, you didn't plug the head end in until you had a terminal on the other end with UTP.
That was why IBM sold an STP solution.
They don't sell much of it these days so maybe it was BS wink


Greg Fretwell
Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: cutting data lines [Re: gfretwell] #186868 06/01/09 12:16 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 166
B
brianl703 Offline
Member
Sounds like BS to me, or it could have only been applicable to Token-Ring (which practically nobody uses anymore). I have never used or worked with Token-Ring so I can't say for sure.


Re: cutting data lines [Re: brianl703] #186873 06/01/09 03:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,408
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Token ring, at least in the IBM implementation, used a shorting type plug and receptacle that closed the ring when it was unplugged.
I tend to agree a UTP in a punched down keystone is safe but just having the bare wires swinging in the air still sounds like it is open to causing problems.


Greg Fretwell
Re: cutting data lines [Re: gfretwell] #186882 06/02/09 02:01 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 166
B
brianl703 Offline
Member
There was a way to run Token Ring over UTP, I believe you used adapters called media filters to do it.

Bare wires swinging in the air could be a problem..why I suggested taping them off.

Re: cutting data lines [Re: brianl703] #186884 06/02/09 02:58 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Not sure about sending Token Ring over UTP, but we did the opposite in the old building (temp solution before it was torn down and rebuilt), using the old Token Ring wiring and a homemade adapter to connect computers to an Ethernet network.

Re: cutting data lines [Re: noderaser] #186886 06/02/09 03:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,408
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
State Farm ran T/R on Cat5. Yes they do call that balun a media filter.


Greg Fretwell
Re: cutting data lines [Re: gfretwell] #188579 08/19/09 01:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
RH1 Offline
Member
It might be useful to check and see if they run Power Over Ethernet.

Re: cutting data lines [Re: RH1] #188583 08/19/09 06:44 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
TOOL_5150 Offline
Member
Just make sure you CYA, because some of the switches in the server room could be upwards of $40k to $60k And like others have said, watch out for PoE

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: cutting data lines [Re: TOOL_5150] #188605 08/20/09 12:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
WESTUPLACE Offline
Member
Most switches will isolate any shorted or open lines, even PoE switches a current limited and will isolate a shorted line. Some of the older Hubs did not like shorts and would slow down the other ports. I always contact IT before doing anything with their stuff. Although I have IT certification, most IT guys are real protective of there territory and will blame any one else on any failures their system has. Robert

Re: cutting data lines [Re: brianl703] #194387 05/28/10 08:56 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 6
Tiger1vic Offline
New Member
Since I'm one of those 'geeks' (actually a network analyst in a large health authority) and there doesn't seem to be a great respect for my type here, I'll keep this short.

If you absolutely KNOW it's a (non-powered) hub and you know the difference, you're probably just fine. However, if any of those wires is connected to a switch or router, especially one that provides PoE (power over ethernet), you could cause all kinds of trouble. We get automated alerts every time someone does something that "shouldn't be a problem" with our network.... frown

BTW, check out the replacement prices for a new Cisco PoE switch sometime. If that doesn't make you careful, nothing will!

Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 437
Joined: December 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,514 Are you busy
194,903 Re: Forum
184,344 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3