ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by gfretwell - 05/23/22 09:29 PM
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 32 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#185666 03/23/09 09:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,671
Likes: 2
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
Hi
Found on the roof of a local starbux; it all sits on a TB supported by a piece of -inch EMT...

They look like a pair of 500W quartz-halogen fixtures.

How would you "bring this up to code"?

busbar

[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Admin #185670 03/23/09 10:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
Just where is the violation?

OK, maybe there's a fill issue in the conduit body ... but using a Bell box would not change the support issue one bit.

The fixtures arefairlylightweight, and the length of the mast isn't very much.

Cheap? Schlock? Absolutely- but I think it meets code.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member
It's a violation of the support required by 314.23(F).

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
Good catch, Electure! So.... rigidis OK for this use, but not EMT.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
Is there anough room inside the T to legally make up the splices?


Ghost307
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 76
P
Member
I agree ghost307, that's a good question.


I have a sense of adventure, I just keep it leashed with common sense.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 806
Member
As long as you don't exceed the fill percentage of the fitting, you can make splices in them. I can't recall the Code section offhand though...

I have seen splices in T-fittings before, they seem to fit ok without too much drama.


Stupid should be painful.
mxslick #186143 04/21/09 06:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
some conduit bodies are approved for a splice some are not and I don't know the differences.

Last edited by mikesh; 04/21/09 06:56 PM. Reason: spelling
mikesh #186150 04/22/09 01:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
If they have the CU IN stamped inside the TB conduit body then yeah it can be used for splices otherwise no it can not be used for splices but I know some guys do used the oversied TB bodies for it and install the reduced bushing in there to make room for splices.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
I've used the 'over size' method a few times.mainly for parking garage light retros'


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,392 Are you busy
223,876 Re: Forum
209,260 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5