ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
SCADA interview questions and answers 2019
by niamishra. 10/17/18 03:26 AM
DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SCADA AND HMI: AUTOMATION ACRON
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/17/18 12:51 AM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
Board tester power supply?
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/13/18 12:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp #185199
03/05/09 09:28 PM
03/05/09 09:28 PM
J
John Dunn  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
Merrick, NY USA
I need to conect to the braid of RG-59B/U with some kind of clamp over the cable's braid. The interface is to a circuit board. Soldering the braid is not viable because the inner dielectric could melt and this cable is supporting 3 kV. Can anyone offer a suggested clamp, manufacturer and/or part number?

Thank you.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp [Re: John Dunn] #185204
03/05/09 09:56 PM
03/05/09 09:56 PM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
These were from channel master 30 years ago i still have a few left. I have the tool for them too, but in a pinch, a person could pinch them with a set of needle nose pliers laugh


Attached Files
RG59 Crimp Rings0001.JPG (54 downloads)
Re: Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp [Re: dougwells] #185208
03/05/09 10:07 PM
03/05/09 10:07 PM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
I have seen them used many years ago for the HV lead that went to the old CRT TV picture tubes too

Re: Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp [Re: dougwells] #185237
03/06/09 02:27 PM
03/06/09 02:27 PM
B
brianl703  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 166
Manassas, VA
Radio Shack used to sell those crimp rings. Maybe they still do. Even if they don't I bet you could find a RadioShack that still has some in stock...

Re: Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp [Re: brianl703] #185238
03/06/09 02:57 PM
03/06/09 02:57 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
MCM Electronics carries all kinds of that stuff. Check out their web site at www.MCMInone.com


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Coaxial Cable Braid Clamp [Re: EV607797] #185282
03/07/09 09:52 PM
03/07/09 09:52 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
It's too bad the OP didn't post a picture of the interface connection in question. It's kind of like a shot in the dark as to guessing at what may or may not work for him.
At 3kV though, it almost sounds like he needs some type of modified spark plug connector.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 222
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,326 Are you busy
187,952 Re: Forum
177,488 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9772 MB (Peak: 1.1282 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-17 09:42:34 UTC