ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/22/17 11:36 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,456 Are you busy
177,439 Re: Forum
169,023 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (geoff in UK), 9 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#184299 - 02/06/09 05:46 PM CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it  
trekkie76  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
baileyville, maine, usa
[Linked Image]

I found this photo on the internet and am wondering why 2 things.

1. Why is there only 2 CT's, with the B phase unmetered?
2. If the color code is right, this is a 208Y/120V 4 wire system. Where is the grounded(neutral) conductor? Isn't this a violation of 250.24(C)?
I have never seen a CT cabinet that didnt have a CT for each phase. Maybe someone could steer me in the right direction.
Thanks,
Gary
Edited to add code section

Last edited by trekkie76; 02/06/09 05:51 PM.

Tools for Electricians:

#184301 - 02/06/09 06:53 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: trekkie76]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
Disregarding the 'color code'.....600 volt fuses in disco, looks like 3 phase, 3 wire (delta) 480 volt service.

I only came accross this twice, a long time ago; industrial


John

#184302 - 02/06/09 07:24 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: trekkie76]  
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Corner grounded Delta system?

Larry C


#184306 - 02/06/09 08:45 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: LarryC]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,223
SI,New Zealand
Shouldn't that CT enclosure and the meter base enclosure also have a ground wire attached to them and run back to that ground wire in the Disconnect?


#184307 - 02/06/09 09:25 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: Trumpy]  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 790
Chicago, Il.
Whether corner grounded or not, don't 2 CTs give you all you need on a delta??? Not true with a wye.
Joe


#184309 - 02/06/09 09:59 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: JoeTestingEngr]  
ameterguy  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 30
Mass
A Delta service is metered with two CTs. The service being either corner grounded or not, does not change the metering setup.
The picture also shows a three phase, four wire meter socket. I think either the CT configuration is wrong or the socket is wrong.


#184326 - 02/07/09 07:34 AM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: ameterguy]  
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
The only other possiblty when you see two CT's there it possbilty that is used for electric motor load only { I did see it in few place like that however POCO don't like it much }

Merci,Marc

P.S. look like 60 a 240 or 208 volt otherwise 480 v 30 amp due the conductor size looks pretty small.

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 02/07/09 07:37 AM. Reason: add more info

Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


#184328 - 02/07/09 01:52 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: frenchelectrican]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
Looks like max 30 amp fused disco at 480/600 volt as I look again.

POCO here supplies CT's and meter pan, and installs wiring from CT's to pan.



John

#184340 - 02/07/09 05:08 PM Re: CT cabinet with only 2 CT's in it [Re: HotLine1]  
RODALCO  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 854
Titirangi, Akld, New Zealand
It looks like an overkill to me for CT metering.
That size cable looks like 16 or 25 mm˛ and the power usage could have been metered directly with a whole current meter.

This CT set up adds hugely to the overall installation costs.


The product of rotation, excitation and flux produces electricty.


Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8036 MB (Peak: 0.9746 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-23 08:08:52 UTC