ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Underground phone and coax depth?
by gfretwell - 02/08/23 12:21 AM
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#181397 10/06/08 06:00 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 60
G
gunther Offline OP
Member
We're building a 400 amp service and met with the POCO engineer today and she said that they require CT's on any commercial service over 200. I mainly work in another POCO jusrisdiction, and they went to 400 amp meter bases at least ten years ago. I think they even have 600's.
I was told that it was much more accurate than CT's, but she held fast onto her CT's as best. Any opinions?

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
Gunther:
Here in NJ (Northern) a RESI 400 amp can be thru a meter pan. (320 continuous, single phase) or a CT can be installed. PSE&G territory. 3 phase is 200 amp meter pan, larger is CT.

Occasionally, a CT cab is omitted, and donut CT's placed on a rack at the weatherhead. Note 'occasionally'!

IMHO, the POCO is the 'boss', so you don't have much choice.


John
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
Here my POCO's have few diffrent verison of slipon/ bolton verison

Typically for resdetnail 400a and under useally have bolted on 400/600 amp meter socket but farm have to use C/T only { safety issue }

commercal it will varies a bit depending on the setup but useally all the C/T's will be found over 400 amp service it dont matter if you have 1Ø or 3Ø system in there.

Again the POCO will have final sayso on the setup.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
S
Member
We use the microlectric JS4A 400amp meter bases for our installations. These meter bases have built in CT's. Nice and easy.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Gunther, you are asking a question that appears to be geographically-based, but you don't have your location indicated in your profile or in your post. It's kind of hard for us to help you if we don't know where you are located since POCO policies vary greatly in different parts of the country.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
BigB 2
Popular Topics(Views)
303,274 Are you busy
232,242 Re: Forum
216,993 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5