ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
CT's vs. straight metering #181397 10/06/08 06:00 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 60
G
gunther Offline OP
Member
We're building a 400 amp service and met with the POCO engineer today and she said that they require CT's on any commercial service over 200. I mainly work in another POCO jusrisdiction, and they went to 400 amp meter bases at least ten years ago. I think they even have 600's.
I was told that it was much more accurate than CT's, but she held fast onto her CT's as best. Any opinions?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: gunther] #181405 10/06/08 07:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Gunther:
Here in NJ (Northern) a RESI 400 amp can be thru a meter pan. (320 continuous, single phase) or a CT can be installed. PSE&G territory. 3 phase is 200 amp meter pan, larger is CT.

Occasionally, a CT cab is omitted, and donut CT's placed on a rack at the weatherhead. Note 'occasionally'!

IMHO, the POCO is the 'boss', so you don't have much choice.


John
Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: HotLine1] #181412 10/06/08 08:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
Here my POCO's have few diffrent verison of slipon/ bolton verison

Typically for resdetnail 400a and under useally have bolted on 400/600 amp meter socket but farm have to use C/T only { safety issue }

commercal it will varies a bit depending on the setup but useally all the C/T's will be found over 400 amp service it dont matter if you have 1Ø or 3Ø system in there.

Again the POCO will have final sayso on the setup.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: gunther] #181413 10/06/08 09:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
S
Sandro Offline
Member
We use the microlectric JS4A 400amp meter bases for our installations. These meter bases have built in CT's. Nice and easy.

Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: Sandro] #181432 10/07/08 06:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
Gunther, you are asking a question that appears to be geographically-based, but you don't have your location indicated in your profile or in your post. It's kind of hard for us to help you if we don't know where you are located since POCO policies vary greatly in different parts of the country.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
pcsailor
pcsailor
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 21
Joined: September 2019
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,704 Are you busy
209,627 Re: Forum
196,966 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3