ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
Opinions Please
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:22 AM
Quickbooks
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:19 AM
Accounting
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:16 AM
Don't you buy this stuff
by gfretwell. 05/23/18 01:41 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
CT's vs. straight metering #181397
10/06/08 07:00 PM
10/06/08 07:00 PM
G
gunther  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 60
We're building a 400 amp service and met with the POCO engineer today and she said that they require CT's on any commercial service over 200. I mainly work in another POCO jusrisdiction, and they went to 400 amp meter bases at least ten years ago. I think they even have 600's.
I was told that it was much more accurate than CT's, but she held fast onto her CT's as best. Any opinions?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: gunther] #181405
10/06/08 08:56 PM
10/06/08 08:56 PM
HotLine1  Online Content

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,965
Brick, NJ USA
Gunther:
Here in NJ (Northern) a RESI 400 amp can be thru a meter pan. (320 continuous, single phase) or a CT can be installed. PSE&G territory. 3 phase is 200 amp meter pan, larger is CT.

Occasionally, a CT cab is omitted, and donut CT's placed on a rack at the weatherhead. Note 'occasionally'!

IMHO, the POCO is the 'boss', so you don't have much choice.


John
Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: HotLine1] #181412
10/06/08 09:57 PM
10/06/08 09:57 PM
F
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
Here my POCO's have few diffrent verison of slipon/ bolton verison

Typically for resdetnail 400a and under useally have bolted on 400/600 amp meter socket but farm have to use C/T only { safety issue }

commercal it will varies a bit depending on the setup but useally all the C/T's will be found over 400 amp service it dont matter if you have 1Ø or 3Ø system in there.

Again the POCO will have final sayso on the setup.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: gunther] #181413
10/06/08 10:07 PM
10/06/08 10:07 PM
S
Sandro  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
We use the microlectric JS4A 400amp meter bases for our installations. These meter bases have built in CT's. Nice and easy.

Re: CT's vs. straight metering [Re: Sandro] #181432
10/07/08 07:11 PM
10/07/08 07:11 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Gunther, you are asking a question that appears to be geographically-based, but you don't have your location indicated in your profile or in your post. It's kind of hard for us to help you if we don't know where you are located since POCO policies vary greatly in different parts of the country.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,882 Are you busy
184,227 Re: Forum
173,461 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.076s Queries: 15 (0.058s) Memory: 0.9680 MB (Peak: 1.1101 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-23 20:50:27 UTC