ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFCI Plug #179608
07/23/08 05:46 PM
07/23/08 05:46 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Hi, I have a portable outdoor appliance (pressure washer)that has a GFCI male plug affixed to it. It's 20amps 120v. I was going to install a receptacle outside for it but it got me thinking. If I was installing a receptacle outside I would install a GFCI receptacle ( I have to). But I always thought that you can't put a gfci on a gfci. I don't want to cut the gfci plug and replace it with a regular one. I like to keep things the way the manufacturer does. If I plug the pressure washer into it wouldn't it just trip the receptacle? Am I wrong? Any suggestions.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFCI Plug [Re: RobbieD] #179609
07/23/08 05:53 PM
07/23/08 05:53 PM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
There's no technical reason why you can't feed one GFI through another. If they are of similar characteristics with regard to tripping time though, it will just be a gamble as to which one trips first in the event of a fault, or indeed whether both trip out together.


Re: GFCI Plug [Re: pauluk] #179610
07/23/08 06:31 PM
07/23/08 06:31 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Thanks for the info. Now I know.

Re: GFCI Plug [Re: RobbieD] #179612
07/23/08 07:54 PM
07/23/08 07:54 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
I have GFCI plugs in GFCI circuits all over the place, no problem. All new boat lifts and pressure washers have them, even my 5HP unit with the 240v plug (perhaps the most needed since the 120v receptacles you would likely plug into should be GFCI).


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,538 Are you busy
186,235 Re: Forum
175,710 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9590 MB (Peak: 1.0900 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-15 22:43:15 UTC