ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,000 Are you busy
175,606 Re: Forum
167,841 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 60 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#179608 - 07/23/08 05:46 PM GFCI Plug  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Hi, I have a portable outdoor appliance (pressure washer)that has a GFCI male plug affixed to it. It's 20amps 120v. I was going to install a receptacle outside for it but it got me thinking. If I was installing a receptacle outside I would install a GFCI receptacle ( I have to). But I always thought that you can't put a gfci on a gfci. I don't want to cut the gfci plug and replace it with a regular one. I like to keep things the way the manufacturer does. If I plug the pressure washer into it wouldn't it just trip the receptacle? Am I wrong? Any suggestions.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#179609 - 07/23/08 05:53 PM Re: GFCI Plug [Re: RobbieD]  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
There's no technical reason why you can't feed one GFI through another. If they are of similar characteristics with regard to tripping time though, it will just be a gamble as to which one trips first in the event of a fault, or indeed whether both trip out together.



#179610 - 07/23/08 06:31 PM Re: GFCI Plug [Re: pauluk]  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Thanks for the info. Now I know.


#179612 - 07/23/08 07:54 PM Re: GFCI Plug [Re: RobbieD]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
I have GFCI plugs in GFCI circuits all over the place, no problem. All new boat lifts and pressure washers have them, even my 5HP unit with the 240v plug (perhaps the most needed since the 120v receptacles you would likely plug into should be GFCI).


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.011s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7601 MB (Peak: 0.8926 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-20 23:09:50 UTC