ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 12 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#177080 04/21/08 07:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
I've done T-5, 4-tube low-bays before and I seem to remember the white & grey ballast lead connected together at the factory with a push-in connector and a lead coming off to connect to the neutral of the supply

Is this correct?

I saw another brand that has black, white and gray, but they show the supply neutral connected to the white ballast lead, and also feeding a switch that connects the grey lead to the whites.

Is this just to switch 2 of the lamps separately?

If so, why is the switch loop in the neutral?

Thanks

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
42 views and no opinions?

I forgot to mention that it is a single ballast for 4 lamps.

Last edited by Redsy; 04/22/08 07:29 AM.
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,282
Likes: 3
Member
Redsy:
OK, I'm the 43rd view, but sorry to say I can't help you on this.


John
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,288
Member
#49 here......Redsy, do you know the manufacturer?


Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
Member
although have installed a bunch of them I never looked inside at the ballast(s) until recently these 4 light Stoncos use a three lamp and single lamp ballast, which makes switching inside/outside impossible... so I am no help

I just assumed the electronic ballasts had no color code standards

I was actually stunned at the replacement cost of the three lamp unit..>$90


Tom
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
O
New Member
I just finished installing several of these fixtures and the white and gray wire went to the neutral.I;m not sure why,but that's the only all 4 lamps would come on.


Work Safe
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
Working from a rather feeble memory, if you connect the grey wire to the neutral (and possibly the hot) all 4 lamps will come on when power is applied to the fixture. The gray can be run through a motion sensor or other control device to provide dual level lighting.

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
R
Member
I have installed these fixtures before and yes it is to be able to switch 2 or 3 of the lamps independently.. WHY they choose to do this with the neutral puzzles me, but as far as I know and have read, this is the purpose of the grey wire.

I think perhaps it is intended for some sort of optional "occupancy sensing" system, where 1 or 2 out of 4 lights normally burn constantly but the remaining lamps are fired up when a person or object moves in the area below the fixture.

A.D

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
Thanks, Guys!!


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,759 Are you busy
217,368 Re: Forum
203,710 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5