ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by gfretwell - 05/23/22 09:29 PM
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 17 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#174170 01/28/08 12:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
jay8 Offline OP
Member
Anyone out there know of a product that can give me additional CATV lines without the cabling? Existing facility that will be a headache for retrofit. thanks.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

jay8 #174178 01/28/08 03:00 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,157
Member
Originally Posted by jay8
Anyone out there know of a product that can give me additional CATV lines without the cabling? Existing facility that will be a headache for retrofit. thanks.


Nope.....

dougwells #174180 01/28/08 03:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 811
Member
I say, nope.

My dad (the cable man) says: Nope, and get the drill and start pulling wire!

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
Member
To deliver an entire cable system, no. One channel at a time, yes. Meaning there would be a tuner of some sort where there is cable, and the selected channel would be wirelessly transmitted to the receiving set, and IR commands sent to the tuner device.

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
S
Member
As Classicsat said here is one option, x10 has a wireless sender for one channel or input at a time.
see :
http://www.x10.com/promotions/wireless_video_sender_vk82a.html

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
jay8 Offline OP
Member
This X-10 things looks promising, but what about looking at it from another angle, is there such a thing as CATV over IP? Personally I dont even have cable at home, this is for an extended care facility, if I can save them a few bucks it can go into more critical repairs.

jay8 #174239 01/30/08 12:28 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
Member
Yes and no, You can stream a channel over a network, wired or wireless using a tuner card and a media center at the TV. several people sell media centers. The local phone co. (AT&T) delivers cable thru the phone lines here. comes in on a phone pair and each set has a box like a cable box that selects the channel. The signal is sent to the neighborhood by way of fiber and the last 4000 by twisted pair. Picture looks good but there are limitations. BTW those still receiving TV by way of an antenna, get yourself a digital TV or a converter box. most stations are broadcasting several digital signals (more than one) and the picture will knock your socks off! Robert

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 167
B
Member
There is something called an "amplitude modulated link" or AML which is used by cable companies to distribute cable TV signals to remote locations. But I don't think this is applicable to what you are looking for.

brianl703 #174289 01/31/08 01:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
The bandwidth of CATV is so high that it's wildly impractical to transfer it over air with any sort of consumer level radio transmitter- best you can really do are solutions that pick one channel and transmit it.

I have a really cool device called SlingBox on my TV- it hooks up to your cable box/DVR (or uses its own internal analog tuner) and puts it on the internet. You can go anywhere in the world, pop open your laptop, and watch what's on your TV at home. It's compatible with wifi, and allows remote control of the cable box/dvr/tv through a virtual remote control and IR modulator. (When my [spoiled rotten] kids are crying that their show's over and they want me to put on another show from the DVR, I can be a lazy-ass and sit at my computer, pull up Slingbox and remotely control my DVR to put their show on.)

So, in short, this would still not let you wirelessly stream CATV to a new location. But if you had a computer in that location, you could watch TV on it through your home's wifi network.

jay8 #174293 01/31/08 04:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 786
L
Member
Quote
Anyone out there know of a product that can give me additional CATV lines without the cabling? Existing facility that will be a headache for retrofit. thanks.


What exactly are you trying to do? Bring cable TV to where it isn't, or add additional channels to an existing cable installation?

Is this system going to use existing TV's, or will it be digital only? Does each location have to be individually addressable? Does each location need to be able to watch different channels?

Questions, questions, questions. smile

Larry C

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,350 Are you busy
223,839 Re: Forum
209,239 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5