ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Alternative income sources
by HotLine1. 05/24/18 01:04 PM
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
Opinions Please
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:22 AM
Quickbooks
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:19 AM
Accounting
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:16 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Belgium power sockets #170938
11/15/07 02:40 PM
11/15/07 02:40 PM
L
LarryC  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Folks,

A couple of questions.

What are the standard sockets used in Belgium? We are shipping some pieces of lab equipment over there, and I was asked, "What cords do we need to order?"

This equipment is composed of a chiller that draws about 9 or 10 A @ 230V, and separate group of equipment that combined draw is less than 10 A @ 230V.

Is there a stock blue circular power plug that supports two 10(?) Amp circuits?

Thanks,

Larry C

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: LarryC] #170949
11/15/07 06:56 PM
11/15/07 06:56 PM
C
C-H  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,497
Stockholm, Sweden
The standard is the round 16 A two pin plug with the ground pin in the socket. (Two pins on the plug and one in the socket).

I can only think of one blue circular power plug that supports two 2 x 10 amps: A 32 A CEE plug combined with two fuses in your equipment. Or supply two 16A cords with plugs...

Another solution is to check if all parts of the equipment need power at the same time. If not, maybe you can do with 16A.

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: C-H] #170963
11/15/07 09:28 PM
11/15/07 09:28 PM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Originally Posted by C-H
The standard is the round 16 A two pin plug with the ground pin in the socket. (Two pins on the plug and one in the socket).


The ones which look like this:

[Linked Image]

And accept this plug (which also fits the German shucko socket with side earth contacts):

[Linked Image]

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: pauluk] #171020
11/17/07 09:09 AM
11/17/07 09:09 AM
D
djk  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
Ireland
I am not aware of any commonly available plug that would provide 2 X 10A single phase circuits.

However, 5 pin 3 phase sockets (400V) sockets are widely available (CEEform type sleeve and pin plugs are the legal requirement for these). It would not be acceptable to use one of these for 2 x single phase circuits as they could be mated with a real 3-phase outlet.

Given what you are describing, if this is a single machine, you really should provide appropriate circuit protection for the two groups of equipment within the device i.e. fusing / breakers and then provide a single appropriately rated CEEform (Blue sleeve and pin to European standards) connector for connection.

How would this equipment be connected in North America ?

Last edited by djk; 11/17/07 09:20 AM.
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171026
11/17/07 02:58 PM
11/17/07 02:58 PM
L
LarryC  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Quote
How would this equipment be connected in North America ?


The customer would have to provide 2 separate circuits. One for the chiller and one for the rest of the equipment.

I was not involved in the selling or reviewing the installation of the system. I was just notified Thursday, "Oh by the way, we also have to provide an extension cord because this system will be installed on a cart."

I believe that the chiller manual states it draws 12A @ 230V and therefore it needs to be a dedicated circuit.

Larry C

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: LarryC] #171030
11/17/07 05:40 PM
11/17/07 05:40 PM
D
djk  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
Ireland
I would simply provide 2 X CEE 7/7 16A plugs and cords smile

Alternatively, a pair of IEC connectors might be acceptable?

Last edited by djk; 11/17/07 05:43 PM.
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171031
11/17/07 05:43 PM
11/17/07 05:43 PM
D
djk  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
Ireland

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171059
11/18/07 05:13 AM
11/18/07 05:13 AM
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
Does your client have a 230v/400v x 3 phase supply?

If so, you could provide a 3 phase + N plug and cord with your equipment and hardwire 2 x 230v + N circuits at your equipment panel [ with 2 x onboard 16A breakers? ].
Third phase is redundant.


Wood work but can't!
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: Alan Belson] #171081
11/19/07 11:31 AM
11/19/07 11:31 AM
T
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,425
Vienna, Austria
16A CEE would be enough in terms of overcurrent protection as long as the subsequent wiring is at least 1.5mm2 and the equipment itself is limiting the current. Basically: you can install a 5x1.5mm2 cord with 3ph plug and permanently wire 3 16A Belgian sockets on the cart, one of which is unused (or only use two phases). Or provide 2 10A IEC connectors and have the customer get two computer cords + regular extension cords.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,899 Are you busy
184,236 Re: Forum
173,469 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.032s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0026 MB (Peak: 1.1760 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-24 23:11:25 UTC