ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
You will never guess
by grich - 02/24/21 07:18 PM
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/24/21 04:40 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
Split Bus Breaker Panel
by gfretwell - 02/15/21 02:30 PM
Sierraplex recpts
by gfretwell - 02/15/21 02:27 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 15 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Belgium power sockets #170938 11/15/07 01:40 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline OP
Member
Folks,

A couple of questions.

What are the standard sockets used in Belgium? We are shipping some pieces of lab equipment over there, and I was asked, "What cords do we need to order?"

This equipment is composed of a chiller that draws about 9 or 10 A @ 230V, and separate group of equipment that combined draw is less than 10 A @ 230V.

Is there a stock blue circular power plug that supports two 10(?) Amp circuits?

Thanks,

Larry C

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: LarryC] #170949 11/15/07 05:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,497
C
C-H Offline
Member
The standard is the round 16 A two pin plug with the ground pin in the socket. (Two pins on the plug and one in the socket).

I can only think of one blue circular power plug that supports two 2 x 10 amps: A 32 A CEE plug combined with two fuses in your equipment. Or supply two 16A cords with plugs...

Another solution is to check if all parts of the equipment need power at the same time. If not, maybe you can do with 16A.

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: C-H] #170963 11/15/07 08:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Originally Posted by C-H
The standard is the round 16 A two pin plug with the ground pin in the socket. (Two pins on the plug and one in the socket).


The ones which look like this:

[Linked Image]

And accept this plug (which also fits the German shucko socket with side earth contacts):

[Linked Image]

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: pauluk] #171020 11/17/07 08:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,250
D
djk Offline
Member
I am not aware of any commonly available plug that would provide 2 X 10A single phase circuits.

However, 5 pin 3 phase sockets (400V) sockets are widely available (CEEform type sleeve and pin plugs are the legal requirement for these). It would not be acceptable to use one of these for 2 x single phase circuits as they could be mated with a real 3-phase outlet.

Given what you are describing, if this is a single machine, you really should provide appropriate circuit protection for the two groups of equipment within the device i.e. fusing / breakers and then provide a single appropriately rated CEEform (Blue sleeve and pin to European standards) connector for connection.

How would this equipment be connected in North America ?

Last edited by djk; 11/17/07 08:20 AM.
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171026 11/17/07 01:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline OP
Member
Quote
How would this equipment be connected in North America ?


The customer would have to provide 2 separate circuits. One for the chiller and one for the rest of the equipment.

I was not involved in the selling or reviewing the installation of the system. I was just notified Thursday, "Oh by the way, we also have to provide an extension cord because this system will be installed on a cart."

I believe that the chiller manual states it draws 12A @ 230V and therefore it needs to be a dedicated circuit.

Larry C

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: LarryC] #171030 11/17/07 04:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,250
D
djk Offline
Member
I would simply provide 2 X CEE 7/7 16A plugs and cords smile

Alternatively, a pair of IEC connectors might be acceptable?

Last edited by djk; 11/17/07 04:43 PM.
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171031 11/17/07 04:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,250
D
djk Offline
Member

Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: djk] #171059 11/18/07 04:13 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Alan Belson Offline
Member
Does your client have a 230v/400v x 3 phase supply?

If so, you could provide a 3 phase + N plug and cord with your equipment and hardwire 2 x 230v + N circuits at your equipment panel [ with 2 x onboard 16A breakers? ].
Third phase is redundant.


Wood work but can't!
Re: Belgium power sockets [Re: Alan Belson] #171081 11/19/07 10:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,491
T
Texas_Ranger Offline
Member
16A CEE would be enough in terms of overcurrent protection as long as the subsequent wiring is at least 1.5mm2 and the equipment itself is limiting the current. Basically: you can install a 5x1.5mm2 cord with 3ph plug and permanently wire 3 16A Belgian sockets on the cart, one of which is unused (or only use two phases). Or provide 2 10A IEC connectors and have the customer get two computer cords + regular extension cords.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,352 Are you busy
209,224 Re: Forum
196,526 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3