ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 42 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#169468 10/05/07 06:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
D
Member
A few days ago I posted a question about sharing a neutral in a single phase system between a 240 firaeplace and the 102 v living circuit(someone pulled a 12-2 instead of a 12-3 and robbed a nuetral from the 120 cir.)Can someone give their opinion on the potential problems here?

dilydalyer #169481 10/05/07 08:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,672
Likes: 7
G
Member
A safety problem at the breaker panel or any intervening boxes for one thing. If you are working on the 120v circuit and trip the breaker you will assume there is no current on the neutral. That could be a deadly assumption. There is also the inductive heating problem 300.20.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #169521 10/07/07 09:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
P
Member
So the 220 v fireplace needs a neutral? Generally that kind of heater is a 220 single phase, two hots and a ground.

PE&Master #169523 10/07/07 10:05 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
If the fire place is only 220,then no. If it is 110/220 then yes.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
sparkyinak #169558 10/08/07 07:15 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
G
Member
I responded to this post twice in the first post. I agree with the three members above. If you rob a nuetral from another circuit, you will still have current present in the fire place connection box when the power is secured or the breaker trips. There will still be current in the connection box because of the current still present on the living-room circuit. 220v with a neutral sounds like it has other bells and whistles on the fire place, like a remote or circuit card. Usually it is 2 hots and a ground. I would run a new 12/3 back to the panel if it indeed needs a nuetral. Since this is a repost with the same question, could you please let us know the make and model of the fireplace. Someone from the forum could probably could answer your question on in one reply. Good Luck.


Brian Gibbons
gibbonsseabee80 #169659 10/11/07 05:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
D
Member
Sorry,been busy.Thanks for your responses.Yes the fireplace has remote but I don't know if it has to be 240 to use the remote.I can get the info when the trim starts.I only read enough when it was wired to keep someone from burning it up.Also,you know the old saying about keeping multi-wire circiuts sharing a neutral on oppisite phases?Seems impossible here:(


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,412
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
286,328 Are you busy
218,794 Re: Forum
204,947 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5