ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by gfretwell. 08/22/17 07:04 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,106 Are you busy
175,721 Re: Forum
167,931 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 80 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#169468 - 10/05/07 07:34 PM repost  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
A few days ago I posted a question about sharing a neutral in a single phase system between a 240 firaeplace and the 102 v living circuit(someone pulled a 12-2 instead of a 12-3 and robbed a nuetral from the 120 cir.)Can someone give their opinion on the potential problems here?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#169481 - 10/05/07 09:54 PM Re: repost [Re: dilydalyer]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,105
Estero,Fl,usa
A safety problem at the breaker panel or any intervening boxes for one thing. If you are working on the 120v circuit and trip the breaker you will assume there is no current on the neutral. That could be a deadly assumption. There is also the inductive heating problem 300.20.


Greg Fretwell

#169521 - 10/07/07 10:01 AM Re: repost [Re: gfretwell]  
PE&Master  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
TX, USA
So the 220 v fireplace needs a neutral? Generally that kind of heater is a 220 single phase, two hots and a ground.


#169523 - 10/07/07 11:05 AM Re: repost [Re: PE&Master]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
If the fire place is only 220,then no. If it is 110/220 then yes.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#169558 - 10/08/07 08:15 AM Re: repost [Re: sparkyinak]  
gibbonsseabee80  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Chesapeake, VA
I responded to this post twice in the first post. I agree with the three members above. If you rob a nuetral from another circuit, you will still have current present in the fire place connection box when the power is secured or the breaker trips. There will still be current in the connection box because of the current still present on the living-room circuit. 220v with a neutral sounds like it has other bells and whistles on the fire place, like a remote or circuit card. Usually it is 2 hots and a ground. I would run a new 12/3 back to the panel if it indeed needs a nuetral. Since this is a repost with the same question, could you please let us know the make and model of the fireplace. Someone from the forum could probably could answer your question on in one reply. Good Luck.


Brian Gibbons

#169659 - 10/11/07 06:43 AM Re: repost [Re: gibbonsseabee80]  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
Sorry,been busy.Thanks for your responses.Yes the fireplace has remote but I don't know if it has to be 240 to use the remote.I can get the info when the trim starts.I only read enough when it was wired to keep someone from burning it up.Also,you know the old saying about keeping multi-wire circiuts sharing a neutral on oppisite phases?Seems impossible here:(



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7770 MB (Peak: 0.9262 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 02:35:10 UTC