ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 13 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
repost #169468
10/05/07 07:34 PM
10/05/07 07:34 PM
D
dilydalyer  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
A few days ago I posted a question about sharing a neutral in a single phase system between a 240 firaeplace and the 102 v living circuit(someone pulled a 12-2 instead of a 12-3 and robbed a nuetral from the 120 cir.)Can someone give their opinion on the potential problems here?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: repost [Re: dilydalyer] #169481
10/05/07 09:54 PM
10/05/07 09:54 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
A safety problem at the breaker panel or any intervening boxes for one thing. If you are working on the 120v circuit and trip the breaker you will assume there is no current on the neutral. That could be a deadly assumption. There is also the inductive heating problem 300.20.


Greg Fretwell
Re: repost [Re: gfretwell] #169521
10/07/07 10:01 AM
10/07/07 10:01 AM
P
PE&Master  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
TX, USA
So the 220 v fireplace needs a neutral? Generally that kind of heater is a 220 single phase, two hots and a ground.

Re: repost [Re: PE&Master] #169523
10/07/07 11:05 AM
10/07/07 11:05 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,334
Alaska
If the fire place is only 220,then no. If it is 110/220 then yes.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: repost [Re: sparkyinak] #169558
10/08/07 08:15 AM
10/08/07 08:15 AM
G
gibbonsseabee80  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Chesapeake, VA
I responded to this post twice in the first post. I agree with the three members above. If you rob a nuetral from another circuit, you will still have current present in the fire place connection box when the power is secured or the breaker trips. There will still be current in the connection box because of the current still present on the living-room circuit. 220v with a neutral sounds like it has other bells and whistles on the fire place, like a remote or circuit card. Usually it is 2 hots and a ground. I would run a new 12/3 back to the panel if it indeed needs a nuetral. Since this is a repost with the same question, could you please let us know the make and model of the fireplace. Someone from the forum could probably could answer your question on in one reply. Good Luck.


Brian Gibbons
Re: repost [Re: gibbonsseabee80] #169659
10/11/07 06:43 AM
10/11/07 06:43 AM
D
dilydalyer  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
Sorry,been busy.Thanks for your responses.Yes the fireplace has remote but I don't know if it has to be 240 to use the remote.I can get the info when the trim starts.I only read enough when it was wired to keep someone from burning it up.Also,you know the old saying about keeping multi-wire circiuts sharing a neutral on oppisite phases?Seems impossible here:(


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,123 Are you busy
185,581 Re: Forum
174,903 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9767 MB (Peak: 1.1247 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-19 06:09:08 UTC