ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Positive Ground on 125 VDC Station Batteries
by gfretwell. 05/22/19 09:53 PM
2020 is at the printers.
by gfretwell. 05/22/19 10:11 AM
Chinese wire symbols?
by Texas_Ranger. 05/19/19 03:09 PM
Pool - Daisy chained GFCI
by gfretwell. 05/18/19 01:30 PM
110.26 working clearances
by HotLine1. 05/14/19 02:08 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Why put a new meter socket? #168870
09/18/07 09:54 PM
09/18/07 09:54 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,545
NY, USA
Quote
Why put a new meter socket, there is one there already!

- HCE727

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168881
09/18/07 11:53 PM
09/18/07 11:53 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
I see 2 problems here: 1) double lugged on main. 2) If that new subpanel does not have a main breaker - I am sure they are over their 6 throw limit.

Nice try - no cigar.

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168884
09/19/07 12:02 AM
09/19/07 12:02 AM
C
CaOperator  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 60
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Open ko's above the washing machine!! yikes

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: CaOperator] #168887
09/19/07 09:34 AM
09/19/07 09:34 AM
M
mamills  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
Wharton, Texas, USA
It looks like the meter/panel unit could be set up to easily go over the six throw limit as well - no main in this panel. Plus, I'm wondering what is the ampacity rating of the main supply cable to the meter. Looks like it might be quite a stretch to supply that large panel.
The workspace violation created by the presence of the washing machine/dryer is another problem, along with the fact that there is not much physically supporting the large panel.
In all, the close co-existence of electrical and plumbing makes me very nervous.

Mike (mamills)

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: mamills] #168973
09/22/07 05:04 PM
09/22/07 05:04 PM
W
wa2ise  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 788
Oradell NJ USA
That might have been a little less ugly had he used a breaker in tha meter panel as the main, and then feed the other new panel as a sub-panel. The washing machine is another issue, though...

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: wa2ise] #168976
09/22/07 10:10 PM
09/22/07 10:10 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,280
Fullerton, CA USA
It seems odd that there would be 12 spaces in the panel with the metering, yet it comes to a set of main lugs, and not a main breaker.

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: electure] #169013
09/23/07 05:33 PM
09/23/07 05:33 PM
N
n1ist  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
Malden MA
12 spaces lets you put in 6 double-pole breakers and still be legal...


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
255,134 Are you busy
191,228 Re: Forum
180,982 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9855 MB (Peak: 1.1438 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-05-23 06:59:42 UTC