ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 35 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Why put a new meter socket? #168870
09/18/07 08:54 PM
09/18/07 08:54 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,524
NY, USA
Quote
Why put a new meter socket, there is one there already!

- HCE727

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168881
09/18/07 10:53 PM
09/18/07 10:53 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
I see 2 problems here: 1) double lugged on main. 2) If that new subpanel does not have a main breaker - I am sure they are over their 6 throw limit.

Nice try - no cigar.

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168884
09/18/07 11:02 PM
09/18/07 11:02 PM
C
CaOperator  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 60
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Open ko's above the washing machine!! yikes

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: CaOperator] #168887
09/19/07 08:34 AM
09/19/07 08:34 AM
M
mamills  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
Wharton, Texas, USA
It looks like the meter/panel unit could be set up to easily go over the six throw limit as well - no main in this panel. Plus, I'm wondering what is the ampacity rating of the main supply cable to the meter. Looks like it might be quite a stretch to supply that large panel.
The workspace violation created by the presence of the washing machine/dryer is another problem, along with the fact that there is not much physically supporting the large panel.
In all, the close co-existence of electrical and plumbing makes me very nervous.

Mike (mamills)

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: mamills] #168973
09/22/07 04:04 PM
09/22/07 04:04 PM
W
wa2ise  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 787
Oradell NJ USA
That might have been a little less ugly had he used a breaker in tha meter panel as the main, and then feed the other new panel as a sub-panel. The washing machine is another issue, though...

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: wa2ise] #168976
09/22/07 09:10 PM
09/22/07 09:10 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,275
Fullerton, CA USA
It seems odd that there would be 12 spaces in the panel with the metering, yet it comes to a set of main lugs, and not a main breaker.

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: electure] #169013
09/23/07 04:33 PM
09/23/07 04:33 PM
N
n1ist  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
Malden MA
12 spaces lets you put in 6 double-pole breakers and still be legal...


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,383 Are you busy
188,621 Re: Forum
178,325 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9864 MB (Peak: 1.1444 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-12 22:28:25 UTC