ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/25/18 06:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Why put a new meter socket? #168870
09/18/07 09:54 PM
09/18/07 09:54 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,516
NY, USA
Quote
Why put a new meter socket, there is one there already!

- HCE727

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168881
09/18/07 11:53 PM
09/18/07 11:53 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
I see 2 problems here: 1) double lugged on main. 2) If that new subpanel does not have a main breaker - I am sure they are over their 6 throw limit.

Nice try - no cigar.

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: Admin] #168884
09/19/07 12:02 AM
09/19/07 12:02 AM
C
CaOperator  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 60
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Open ko's above the washing machine!! yikes

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: CaOperator] #168887
09/19/07 09:34 AM
09/19/07 09:34 AM
M
mamills  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
Wharton, Texas, USA
It looks like the meter/panel unit could be set up to easily go over the six throw limit as well - no main in this panel. Plus, I'm wondering what is the ampacity rating of the main supply cable to the meter. Looks like it might be quite a stretch to supply that large panel.
The workspace violation created by the presence of the washing machine/dryer is another problem, along with the fact that there is not much physically supporting the large panel.
In all, the close co-existence of electrical and plumbing makes me very nervous.

Mike (mamills)

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: mamills] #168973
09/22/07 05:04 PM
09/22/07 05:04 PM
W
wa2ise  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 787
Oradell NJ USA
That might have been a little less ugly had he used a breaker in tha meter panel as the main, and then feed the other new panel as a sub-panel. The washing machine is another issue, though...

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: wa2ise] #168976
09/22/07 10:10 PM
09/22/07 10:10 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA
It seems odd that there would be 12 spaces in the panel with the metering, yet it comes to a set of main lugs, and not a main breaker.

Re: Why put a new meter socket? [Re: electure] #169013
09/23/07 05:33 PM
09/23/07 05:33 PM
N
n1ist  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
Malden MA
12 spaces lets you put in 6 double-pole breakers and still be legal...


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
249,467 Are you busy
187,385 Re: Forum
176,726 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9863 MB (Peak: 1.1444 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-26 04:48:22 UTC