ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,067 Are you busy
175,686 Re: Forum
167,903 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 66 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#166101 - 07/12/07 08:13 PM Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable  
windmiller  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Alaska
Hi,
I am having a ground fault on a 15 kV cable. I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of hi-potting a cable that is still terminated to the bus?

The ground runs through the CT and the breaker is tripping on reset.

Thanks for any information or tips on hi-potting.

great website and members.

regards,
windmiller


We all live under one King

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#166284 - 07/17/07 10:42 AM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: windmiller]  
XtheEdgeX  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 116
Florida
Never have. The cable needs to be free and clear on each end to hi-pot it correctly.


#166295 - 07/17/07 12:59 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: windmiller]  
George Corron  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
Lorton, Va USA
If you don't remove it, you will be hy-potting buss and all simultaneously. Not a big problem, but you won't know if the problem is cable or buss.

Try an ohm-meter first, it will tell you more about how far away your problem is, but if the ohms are high phase to ground, your still stuck trying to locate. You may need to find a "thumper" if it is underground.

The hy-pot will tell you if you have a bad termination, if the cable has been in service awhile and just started tripping out you will likely see track marks near the term if that is the problem.


#166299 - 07/17/07 02:21 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: George Corron]  
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 907
Chicago Illinois USA
If you try to hi-pot the cable while it's still connected and end up hi-potting the equipment, how with the buss,relays, etc. react to that test voltage?


Ghost307

#166300 - 07/17/07 03:27 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: ghost307]  
Zog  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 120
Charlotte, NC
Every cable specification out there does not recommend DC hipotting service aged (>5 years) cables. DC hipot is considered a destructive test and will most likely damage the cable. Ghost307 is right about disconnecting the cable from the bus, the cable should be disconnected with corona supression before any overpotential test.

You can locate your problem without a shutdown with an online Partial Discharge test, or if shutting down is not a major issue a VLF or Tan Delta test would be more appropriate.

When is the last time you tested your relays? What type of relays are they? What indications are you getting? What type of cable?


MV/HV Testing Specialist, "BKRMAN"

#166338 - 07/18/07 12:31 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: windmiller]  
George Corron  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
Lorton, Va USA
He did not state WHAT level he was high potting to, a fairly low hy-pot will not harm an older cable.

He will want to remove any PT fuses prior to high pot. Any equipment connected to that buss is going to be rated for system voltage or is already self destructed. I would suggest hy-pot to system voltage only.

I'd still do a thorough visual of the buss and terms to check for tracking. The problem may be painfully obvious.


#166343 - 07/18/07 02:28 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: George Corron]  
Zog  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 120
Charlotte, NC

It dosent matter WHAT level he is hipotting to. The ICEA, and both IEEE 400 and IEEE 576 do not recommend DC hipotting service aged cables.

In addition the IEEE 400 states “even massive insulation defects cannot be detected with DC at the recommended voltage levels”. If massive insulation defects cannot be found at recommended levels what do you expect to find at a "Fairly low" level?

Also the ICEA allows for reduced voltage DC testing for the first 5 years and no DC testing after 5 years and states that DC testing of service aged cables can lead to early failures.



MV/HV Testing Specialist, "BKRMAN"

#166352 - 07/18/07 08:14 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: windmiller]  
George Corron  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
Lorton, Va USA
He is attempting to identify a problem, not commission a cable. The problem will show with a low level test, a megger, or likely, as I said before, an ohm meter.

He may want to consider an AC test as opposed to your DC.

You are of course right, better to do nothing, or hire a third party to do a tan delta test as opposed to rectify the problem.


Last edited by George Corron; 07/18/07 08:14 PM.

#166375 - 07/19/07 08:03 AM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: George Corron]  
Zog  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 120
Charlotte, NC
"He is attempting to identify a problem, not commission a cable"

A DC hipot would be fine if he was commisioning a cable, A PD or Tan delta test is a condition assesment test.

"as I said before, an ohm meter"

You really think putting 5-7V across 15kV insulation will tell you anything but "O.L."???? That wont even charge the insulation. A DAR test with a 5000V megger may provide some useful info if you want a quick easy test.

"He may want to consider an AC test as opposed to your DC"

Thats what I have saying all along.


MV/HV Testing Specialist, "BKRMAN"

#166381 - 07/19/07 12:50 PM Re: Hi-Pot testing 15kV Cable [Re: Zog]  
gibbonsseabee80  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Chesapeake, VA
Im like the eighth response lol. I have never heard of that method. We hi-potted a set of cables about six months ago. We pulled the load break elbows at the other end (all free from equipment and sensors) and taped Jelly jars on the end of the load breaks..to ensure they were completely isolated from any ground.


Brian Gibbons

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8195 MB (Peak: 1.0021 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-22 07:24:51 UTC