ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/20/18 03:08 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (ampherder), 30 guests, and 29 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Another 3-way switch conundrum #165902
07/07/07 10:15 AM
07/07/07 10:15 AM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Here's the situation:

Contractor builds addition. Homeowner wires it - calls me to fix it.

At house entrance to the room - 1 gang box; 14/2 feed,
14/3 to 2 gang box on other side of room,
14/2 to light in center of room.

At outside entrance to room - 2 gang box;
14/3 from other side of room
14/2 to outside light

No feed for outside light! - need to get a feed over there! No access to attic or basement, and room is finish painted and trimmed.

I've looked at some X-10 solutions, but none seem to fit the bill. I'll end up with only one conductor available between the two boxes.

I thought there was an X-10 solution that would work as long as I had power to both modules, but can't seem to find one. Also, most of the X-10 stuff I've looked at is decora style - customer prefers "old fashioned" toggle appearance to match rest of the home.

Thanks! and appreciate your help!

Grov

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Grover] #165905
07/07/07 10:54 AM
07/07/07 10:54 AM
T
Tom H  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
Milford, Ct, USA
Splice thru the feed to the outdoor box, put smart switches at outside box, put a one button on/off controller at entrance to room. The one button controller just needs 110, and your switches at the door will now have power. You end up with one spare at the front door from the entrance box.

As far as toggle style stuff. I have seen x-10 switches that fit the toggle opening, just the are push buttons, not toggles. Not a big user of x-10 so some one else may have more input.

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Grover] #165909
07/07/07 12:02 PM
07/07/07 12:02 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Grov,

"most of the X-10 stuff I've looked at is decora style - customer prefers "old fashioned" toggle appearance to match rest of the home."

Try smart house they have toggle style, we just installed one that the owner ordered it from smart house.


Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Tom H] #165910
07/07/07 12:12 PM
07/07/07 12:12 PM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Thanks Tom

What you describe is exactly how I thought of doing it, but..... Looking at the WS477 + CS277 pair, they need 2 wires to go between the modules, and I need two for the feed across the room - total of 4 - and I've only got 3.

Perhaps I'm missing something.... or picked the wrong module pair.

Grov

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Grover] #165911
07/07/07 12:17 PM
07/07/07 12:17 PM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Hey LK Thanks!

Smart House or Smart Home?

Google says smarthome.... I'll keep diggin!

Grov

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Grover] #165915
07/07/07 04:52 PM
07/07/07 04:52 PM
H
HLCbuild  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 209
Herndon,Va USA
I like Home Controls. They have a wide selection and good tech support:
http://www.homecontrols.com/cgi-bin/hci.pl?pgm=co_disp&func=displ&strfnbr=2&prrfnbr=2382&sesent=0,0&search_id=181799

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: HLCbuild] #165920
07/07/07 09:07 PM
07/07/07 09:07 PM
S
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
It's SmartHome.

I'd use Insteon instead of X-10. Insteon also comes from SmartHome.

There are plenty of conductors installed to be able to use Insteon for that configuration. (Probably X-10, as well.)

http://www.insteon.net

Oh, there are toggle versions of the Insteon switches.

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: SolarPowered] #165921
07/07/07 09:12 PM
07/07/07 09:12 PM
R
RODALCO  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 856
Titirangi, Akld, New Zealand
Well homeowner stuffed up. He shouldn't have wired it up in the first place.
Who knows what other hidden secrets are waiting for you behind the walls.

I would go for capping or trunking on the wall from a healthy supply. These cappings can be painted in the same colour as the walls.

Otherwise, open up the walls and do it the correct way. It will teach the customer a lesson or just walk away from it,
IMHO.


The product of rotation, excitation and flux produces electricty.
Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: Grover] #165925
07/08/07 12:56 AM
07/08/07 12:56 AM
W
winnie  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 649
boston, ma
Well, you have enough conductors to provide a feed for the outside light and to run the inside light using a 'french' three way.....

Although, if you use 2 of the conductors on the 14/3 to bring power to the second box, then you could use diodes and normal three way switches to control the room light using the third conductor. I don't know if anyone makes UL listed devices to implement this, but it is similar to a puzzle posted here a while back. I'll leave the diode configuration as an additional puzzle smile

-Jon

Re: Another 3-way switch conundrum [Re: winnie] #165937
07/08/07 07:26 AM
07/08/07 07:26 AM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Would there be any Code issues with using a French 3-way arrangement to control a relay rather than switching the light directly? If not, and if you could find a way to fit the relay at the single-gang box without too much disturbance, that would work.

Failing that, use the diode arrangement to switch a relay. Use two conductors of the 14/3 to take power to the far location and wire the outside light as normal.

Tap the hot to the common terminal of the 3-way, then use a diode from each remaining switch terminal commoned to the remaining wire of the 14/3. One diode should be anode to the "traveler," the other cathode. Use a similar diode arrangement at the other end then take the common of that 3-way to your relay coil.

I'll leave it to the NEC experts to come up with any code objections to this idea.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,662 Are you busy
188,795 Re: Forum
178,514 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0275 MB (Peak: 1.2082 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-21 12:50:10 UTC