ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Flexible Conduit?
by gfretwell - 10/24/21 01:59 AM
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 22 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#165606 07/01/07 01:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,666
Likes: 2
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
submitted by Alan Nadon:
Quote
This is the C.T. (current transformer) and metering for a new 2,000 amp service. Underground feed.

[Linked Image]

Quote
This is the second picture inside the C.T. cabinet. The only wires are the utility company supply lines nothing else has been installed.

[Linked Image]

Quote
This is a close up of where the arc fault from the wires cut a hole in the bottom corner of the C.T. cabinet when someone mistakenly closed the links at the transformer.

Bad news .......cabinet damaged
Good News......... nobody got hurt.

Have a great weekend and fourth of July.

Alan Nadon

[Linked Image]

Admin #165622 07/01/07 07:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
Member
I bet the line mechanic got a good scare from that one!


Peter
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 141
L
Member
In my opinion you should not leave untaped wires if one side can possibly be energized.

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
How do you get 2000A in a single 4"? Why is there blue tape on the identified conductor?
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
A
Member
The identified conductor is being used as a phase conductor. The blue tape is to keep someone from thinking that it is the grounded/neutral leg.
The equipment inside (not installed) will be rated for 2,000 amp. The POCO sizes their conductors for the expected load.
The lineman is probably still seeing spots.



Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
Alan,
It looks like there are 3 phase conductors and an identified condutor. Why would the identified conductor have to be used as a phase conductor?
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
S
Member
It looks like the black conductor in the back is smaller than the other three. That is probably why they used the striped one as the 3rd leg. It looks like they used their standard single phase UG triplex and threw in another smaller conductor for the grounded conductor.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
That's what they do around here too. Our local power company uses 1/0 aluminum for up to a 400 amp service, so I am not surprised to see such small conductors in this application.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
it pretty much sum up with UG wires our POCO do pretty much the same as well here we used 1/0 AL for 400 amp service but go 600 amp they used paralled 1/0's and majorty of them used bundled triplex and they useally dont stock not too many quadplex unless unuseally large service.


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,854 Are you busy
217,421 Re: Forum
203,737 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5