ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
300 watt transformer
by gfretwell. 10/23/17 10:21 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,467 Are you busy
177,470 Re: Forum
169,035 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#164265 - 05/29/07 03:21 PM isolating transformer  
watersparkfalls  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Washington...Not DC
I am installing an isolating transformer with electrostatic sheild for a music recording studio 240 volt(60 amps) in and 240/120 out. it is in a residential house that has no steel. my question is does this sound like proper application/installation for this job(haven't done x-former in ions)i pull 3-#8's(copper)two phases tied to primary (h1+h4 and h4+h10), one ground (to factory provided lug) from new sub panel(feeds non isolated loads) in music room through 3/4" EMT to jbox,then whip into x-former. at x-former i install a double barrel lug to frame of x-former and tie x2 and x3 from secondary to oneside of lug and feed isolated sub-panel neutral from this bonding point. then bond single lug on frame and run to ground bar of my isolated sub-panel and feed isolated sub-panel from x1 and x4. does this sound right? or did i miss something? thanks in advance,
H2o

Last edited by watersparkfalls; 05/29/07 03:30 PM.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#164290 - 05/30/07 05:51 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
H2O Sparks:
Check out the Technical Area for schematics. Scott35 runs a tight ship over there, and that should answer all your needs.
John


John

#164299 - 05/30/07 07:51 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls]  
watersparkfalls  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Washington...Not DC
well i've researched my own question and since this is an isolating transformer i will actually use a tap block for x2 and x3 then intentially ground it to earth via ground rod and pull my isolated neutral from here(thus keeping it free from transient noises and keeping it isolated). for my equipment bond i will pull off frame grounding lug from transformer??
still reading....
H2o


#164300 - 05/30/07 07:54 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: HotLine1]  
watersparkfalls  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Washington...Not DC
john where is this tech area?
thanks
H2o


#164448 - 06/03/07 07:14 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
Go to the main forum page, then scroll down....technical section.......underneath the 'pics' area......
Sorry for the delay; I've been out of town.
John


John

#164594 - 06/06/07 08:50 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: HotLine1]  
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
You can't really isolate it from the utility as the isolating transformer will require a primary EGC that will be connected to the case and the secondary grounded conductor will also have to be bonded to the case.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

#164605 - 06/07/07 01:35 AM Re: isolating transformer [Re: resqcapt19]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,126
Estero,Fl,usa
Isolation transformers do not have a grounded secondary as a general rule. That is the point. IBM used them for the convenience outlets in all of our old mainframe machines. The secondary was completely floating. That actually accomplished 2 things. We never brought a grounded conductor into the computer room panels so that was the only way to get 120v and it also prevented electrocution or overcurrent in any line to ground contact ... at least the first one anyway. The cases of connected equipment still got grounded via the EGC. Usually the line filters in the first piece of plugged in equipment stabilized the voltage at +/- 60v. We tried to keep the customes out of there but an available NEMA 5-15 will get used.


Greg Fretwell

#164611 - 06/07/07 04:58 AM Re: isolating transformer [Re: gfretwell]  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Isolation transformers do not have a grounded secondary as a general rule. That is the point.


I do not believe that will be NEC compliant.



Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#164614 - 06/07/07 08:41 AM Re: isolating transformer [Re: iwire]  
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 916
Chicago Illinois USA
Isolation transformers need to have their output referenced to ground just the same way as any other transformer.

NEC says that if it CAN be grounded, it SHALL be grounded.

What doesn't need a ground connection is an "isolated power system" such as is found in a Hospital. But then you've got to have monitoring equipment to tell you when there's a fault in the secondary. There are also a few other very limited exceptions, but isolation transformers aren't among them.


Ghost307

#164620 - 06/07/07 12:10 PM Re: isolating transformer [Re: ghost307]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,126
Estero,Fl,usa
This was under the covers of listed equipment, not premisis wiring.


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,708
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8210 MB (Peak: 1.0018 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-24 04:08:23 UTC