ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
isolating transformer #164265 05/29/07 02:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 236
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
I am installing an isolating transformer with electrostatic sheild for a music recording studio 240 volt(60 amps) in and 240/120 out. it is in a residential house that has no steel. my question is does this sound like proper application/installation for this job(haven't done x-former in ions)i pull 3-#8's(copper)two phases tied to primary (h1+h4 and h4+h10), one ground (to factory provided lug) from new sub panel(feeds non isolated loads) in music room through 3/4" EMT to jbox,then whip into x-former. at x-former i install a double barrel lug to frame of x-former and tie x2 and x3 from secondary to oneside of lug and feed isolated sub-panel neutral from this bonding point. then bond single lug on frame and run to ground bar of my isolated sub-panel and feed isolated sub-panel from x1 and x4. does this sound right? or did i miss something? thanks in advance,
H2o

Last edited by watersparkfalls; 05/29/07 02:30 PM.
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls] #164290 05/30/07 04:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
H2O Sparks:
Check out the Technical Area for schematics. Scott35 runs a tight ship over there, and that should answer all your needs.
John


John
Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls] #164299 05/30/07 06:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 236
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
well i've researched my own question and since this is an isolating transformer i will actually use a tap block for x2 and x3 then intentially ground it to earth via ground rod and pull my isolated neutral from here(thus keeping it free from transient noises and keeping it isolated). for my equipment bond i will pull off frame grounding lug from transformer??
still reading....
H2o

Re: isolating transformer [Re: HotLine1] #164300 05/30/07 06:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 236
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
john where is this tech area?
thanks
H2o

Re: isolating transformer [Re: watersparkfalls] #164448 06/03/07 06:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Go to the main forum page, then scroll down....technical section.......underneath the 'pics' area......
Sorry for the delay; I've been out of town.
John


John
Re: isolating transformer [Re: HotLine1] #164594 06/06/07 07:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
You can't really isolate it from the utility as the isolating transformer will require a primary EGC that will be connected to the case and the secondary grounded conductor will also have to be bonded to the case.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: isolating transformer [Re: resqcapt19] #164605 06/07/07 12:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Isolation transformers do not have a grounded secondary as a general rule. That is the point. IBM used them for the convenience outlets in all of our old mainframe machines. The secondary was completely floating. That actually accomplished 2 things. We never brought a grounded conductor into the computer room panels so that was the only way to get 120v and it also prevented electrocution or overcurrent in any line to ground contact ... at least the first one anyway. The cases of connected equipment still got grounded via the EGC. Usually the line filters in the first piece of plugged in equipment stabilized the voltage at +/- 60v. We tried to keep the customes out of there but an available NEMA 5-15 will get used.


Greg Fretwell
Re: isolating transformer [Re: gfretwell] #164611 06/07/07 03:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Isolation transformers do not have a grounded secondary as a general rule. That is the point.


I do not believe that will be NEC compliant.



Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: isolating transformer [Re: iwire] #164614 06/07/07 07:41 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Isolation transformers need to have their output referenced to ground just the same way as any other transformer.

NEC says that if it CAN be grounded, it SHALL be grounded.

What doesn't need a ground connection is an "isolated power system" such as is found in a Hospital. But then you've got to have monitoring equipment to tell you when there's a fault in the secondary. There are also a few other very limited exceptions, but isolation transformers aren't among them.


Ghost307
Re: isolating transformer [Re: ghost307] #164620 06/07/07 11:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
This was under the covers of listed equipment, not premisis wiring.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,757 Are you busy
209,666 Re: Forum
197,013 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3