ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 12:30 AM
Another NEC 2017 Question_240/24VAC Txfr-Neutral R
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 12:14 AM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 12:09 AM
Service Question
by HotLine1 - 09/14/19 01:43 PM
What is this?
by NORCAL - 09/12/19 12:55 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 312 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
230V equipment on 208V #164136 05/25/07 11:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline OP
Member
I looked at an automotive shop job today. Only this evening did I realize that the single-phase compressor (7.5hp) and the TIG machine want *230V*. blush The service is 120/208V 3-phase.

I know most of the options (I think)... what are the least expensive workarounds for this? Or what is the typical fix?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164138 05/26/07 12:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 884
N
NORCAL Online Content
Member
For the compressor buck boost transformer.Does the TIG welder have taps to change voltage,as a lot of welding equipment is designed for multi voltage use,just change tap to desired voltage.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164139 05/26/07 12:47 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
Just a thought, it might be cheaper and or better to replace the TIG welder with a 3-phase 208 version, if the existing one doesn't have a 208 tap.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: SolarPowered] #164140 05/26/07 01:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline OP
Member
I have to double check... it all just dawned on me this evening. The welder is a Miller Maxstar 150. Judging from the online owner's manual it appears to auto-sense between 115 and 230V.

OTOH, the mig machine has both a 200V and 230V rating, so its fine.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164142 05/26/07 02:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Niko Offline
Member
As NORCAL suggeste, Buck & Boost X-frmr.
and check the tabs on the welder.

http://acmepowerdist.com/products.asp?PAGE=/selguide/index.aspx

Use the selection guide on the left.




Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: Niko] #164154 05/26/07 11:30 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 884
N
NORCAL Online Content
Member
Here is a link from Miller: http://www.millerwelds.com/products/tig/maxstar_150_sth/ This is one of 2 Maxstar models listed but this is copy and paste from same link:"Auto-Line™ Power Management technology circuitry automatically connects to 115 - 230 VAC, single-phase power without removing the cover to relink the power source."I did not read anything stating a 208V rating all data refered to operating @ 115 or 230V .


Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164172 05/26/07 05:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline OP
Member
I'll give Miller's tech line a call on Monday. One local retailer said 208V is fine. Not that I'm going to take their word for it crazy

Based on the price for a 208/230V-20A buck/boost for the welder ($600 eek) I predict it will be cheaper to change the motor on the compressor if Devair says no-go.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164194 05/27/07 03:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Active 1 Offline
Member
From the miller web:

Auto line power management tecnoligy circuitry automatically connects to 115 - 230 VAC, single-phase power without removing the cover to relink the power source.


Wonder what type of plug it has.

This tig is a newer type that only weighs 13 pounds and my guess is more capacitors and electronics then transformers.
Other miller units had:
Universal Location Flexibility
Permits direct connection to almost any type of input power—115-575 VAC (varies by product), 1- or 3-phase, 50 or 60 Hz

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: Active 1] #164198 05/27/07 06:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 884
N
NORCAL Online Content
Member

"Wonder what type of plug it has."

You install your own......

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164214 05/28/07 02:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
I think the Multi-Voltage Plug(tm) setup on this one is rather innovative:

http://www.millerwelds.com/products/mig/millermatic_passport/index.php

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 11
Popular Topics(Views)
258,501 Are you busy
194,117 Re: Forum
183,619 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3