ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
230V equipment on 208V #164136
05/25/07 11:11 PM
05/25/07 11:11 PM
U
u2slow  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I looked at an automotive shop job today. Only this evening did I realize that the single-phase compressor (7.5hp) and the TIG machine want *230V*. blush The service is 120/208V 3-phase.

I know most of the options (I think)... what are the least expensive workarounds for this? Or what is the typical fix?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164138
05/26/07 12:44 AM
05/26/07 12:44 AM
N
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 882
For the compressor buck boost transformer.Does the TIG welder have taps to change voltage,as a lot of welding equipment is designed for multi voltage use,just change tap to desired voltage.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164139
05/26/07 12:47 AM
05/26/07 12:47 AM
S
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Just a thought, it might be cheaper and or better to replace the TIG welder with a 3-phase 208 version, if the existing one doesn't have a 208 tap.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: SolarPowered] #164140
05/26/07 01:13 AM
05/26/07 01:13 AM
U
u2slow  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I have to double check... it all just dawned on me this evening. The welder is a Miller Maxstar 150. Judging from the online owner's manual it appears to auto-sense between 115 and 230V.

OTOH, the mig machine has both a 200V and 230V rating, so its fine.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164142
05/26/07 02:28 AM
05/26/07 02:28 AM
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
As NORCAL suggeste, Buck & Boost X-frmr.
and check the tabs on the welder.

http://acmepowerdist.com/products.asp?PAGE=/selguide/index.aspx

Use the selection guide on the left.




Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: Niko] #164154
05/26/07 11:30 AM
05/26/07 11:30 AM
N
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 882
Here is a link from Miller: http://www.millerwelds.com/products/tig/maxstar_150_sth/ This is one of 2 Maxstar models listed but this is copy and paste from same link:"Auto-Line™ Power Management technology circuitry automatically connects to 115 - 230 VAC, single-phase power without removing the cover to relink the power source."I did not read anything stating a 208V rating all data refered to operating @ 115 or 230V .


Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164172
05/26/07 05:19 PM
05/26/07 05:19 PM
U
u2slow  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I'll give Miller's tech line a call on Monday. One local retailer said 208V is fine. Not that I'm going to take their word for it crazy

Based on the price for a 208/230V-20A buck/boost for the welder ($600 eek) I predict it will be cheaper to change the motor on the compressor if Devair says no-go.

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: u2slow] #164194
05/27/07 03:52 PM
05/27/07 03:52 PM
A
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
From the miller web:

Auto line power management tecnoligy circuitry automatically connects to 115 - 230 VAC, single-phase power without removing the cover to relink the power source.


Wonder what type of plug it has.

This tig is a newer type that only weighs 13 pounds and my guess is more capacitors and electronics then transformers.
Other miller units had:
Universal Location Flexibility
Permits direct connection to almost any type of input power—115-575 VAC (varies by product), 1- or 3-phase, 50 or 60 Hz

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: Active 1] #164198
05/27/07 06:27 PM
05/27/07 06:27 PM
N
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 882

"Wonder what type of plug it has."

You install your own......

Re: 230V equipment on 208V [Re: NORCAL] #164214
05/28/07 02:37 AM
05/28/07 02:37 AM
S
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
I think the Multi-Voltage Plug(tm) setup on this one is rather innovative:

http://www.millerwelds.com/products/mig/millermatic_passport/index.php

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,580 Are you busy
188,116 Re: Forum
177,764 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0246 MB (Peak: 1.2059 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-22 05:41:55 UTC